Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Psychological

Seven Days

by (author) Patrick Senécal

translated by Howard Scott & Phyllis Aronoff

Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Initial publish date
Jan 2019
Category
Psychological, Suspense, Horror
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781982102616
    Publish Date
    Jan 2019
    List Price
    $22.00
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781982102630
    Publish Date
    Jan 2019
    List Price
    $8.94 USD

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

For fans of Stephen King’s Misery and Jo Nesbø’s The Snowman comes an engrossing thriller about a monster who becomes a victim and a victim who becomes a monster. From Patrick Senécal, the Quebec author who has sold over a million books worldwide.

One sunny fall day, Dr. Bruno Hamel’s life changes forever.
His beloved seven-year-old daughter, Jasmine, is the victim of a tragic crime. Grief-stricken, Hamel sets in play a meticulous plan. He will kidnap the man responsible for his daughter’s death and make him pay horribly for what he has done. He manages to ambush a police transport and disappear with his target.
But Hamel hasn’t accounted for Hervé Mercure, a detective with a troubled past who becomes certain he can track down Hamel by studying clues in his past—and in the increasingly unsettling phone calls Hamel makes to his partner, Sylvie.
Both riveting and provocative, this daring thriller is an enthralling meditation on what it means to be human—and to battle the monster within and without.

About the authors

Patrick Senecal was born in 1967 in Drummondville, Quebec. He began writing in high school and self-published his short fiction while there. In 1994 he published his first novel, 5150 rue des Ormes, and he has since published dozens of novels, thick and dark, many winning prizes and several becoming films. Patrick published his first novella, Contre Dieu, in 2010, and now Contre Dieu has come to the Anglophone masses with a masterful translation.

Patrick Senécal's profile page

Howard Scott translates poetry, fiction and non-fiction, often with co-translator Phyllis Aronoff, including works by Madeleine Gagnon, Kim Doré and Madeleine Monette, as well as numerous scholarly works in the humanities. He has also published translations of poetry by Madeleine Gagnon, Michel Pleau and Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, and science fiction by Élisabeth Vonarburg. In 1997, he won the Governor General’s Literary Award for English translation for The Euguelion, by Louky Bersianik. He is a past president of the Literary Translators’ Association of Canada.

Howard Scott's profile page

Phyllis Aronoff lives in Montreal. She has a Master’s degree in English literature. The Wanderer, her translation of La Québécoite by Régine Robin, won the 1998 Jewish Book Award for fiction. She and Howard Scott were awarded the 2001 Quebec Writers’ Federation Translation Award for The Great Peace of Montreal of 1701. She is currently president of the LTAC.

Phyllis Aronoff's profile page

Excerpt: Seven Days (by (author) Patrick Senécal; translated by Howard Scott & Phyllis Aronoff)

Editorial Reviews

“A Québec author who is a master at unsettling our emotions and taking us very far into the pit of madness.”

Le Soleil

“With Seven Days, English-speaking readers are going to discover what millions of French readers already know: Patrick Senécal is the real deal. I hope they enjoy this dementedly wonderful book as much as I did, but be warned: Here there be Tygers.” 

Craig Davidson, author of The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Praise for Seven Days
“Senécal is concerned with big questions here: what is the nature of evil . . . What are the limits of grief and sanity? Is revenge ultimately futile or purgative? . . . The issues Senécal grapples with are urgent, especially in our current fraught political moment.”
 

Quill & Quire

“An author that no other equals in his ability not only to keep the readers riveted, but also to plunge them in an unsettling state from where they don’t wake up before having devoured the book to its very last page.”

L’Oeil regional

“A tight little drama.”
 

The Globe and Mail

“A visceral thriller propelled by the seething, heartbreaking passion of revenge. Senécal holds nothing back, which is what makes reading him feel so dangerous.”
 

Andrew Pyper, bestselling author of The Only Child and The Demonologist

“Without imitating Stephen King’s style, Patrick Senécal manages to instill as much interest in the reader as does the master of American horror stories.”

Québec français

“The author’s best quality is that he doesn’t flinch from his subject and goes all the way, with all the unsparing, morbid details.”

Lectures

“Both highly moral and absolutely terrifying. A revenge fantasy enacted with perfect, ambiguous realism.” 

Nathan Ripley, bestselling author of Find You in the Dark

“He excels at telling stories, revealing in the building-up of that ultra-precise mechanism which is that of the thriller, oiling each and every cog, listening to the implacable ticking of the words which — well, it must be said, he uses to manipulate the reader.”

La Presse

“Senécal masterfully sets up the thriller’s efficient mechanics, a well-tempered mix of suspense and terror which has made its success. His books are full of tortured and excessive beings, outwardly strong but inwardly tormented. This is the reason why his literary universe is so seductive and so unsettling, and keeps us on the edge of our seats.”

Accès Laurentides

Praise for Patrick Senécal 
“Senécal is currently Québec’s best horror author.”

CFOU FM – Le Voyageur insolite

“What a great discovery! Patrick Senécal’s universe is simply terrifying, for our greatest enjoyment! Reading this very talented author guarantees lots of extremely pleasurable shivers!”

CHEY – Rock Détente

“This is very well done. It owes nothing to Stephen King and, as far as I’m concerned, it is in nothing inferior to Stephen King.”

Radio-Canada – Indicatif Présent

“Senécal asks big questions about the nature of humanity.”

Publishers Weekly

“Senécal writes very efficiently. Action, rhythm, taking hold of the reader, are more important to him than stylistic flourishes. All the better for us.”

Nuit Blanche

Other titles by Patrick Senécal

Other titles by Howard Scott

Other titles by Phyllis Aronoff