Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Enter for a Chance to Win Free Books!

49th Shelf members can enter to win a copy of any of the books listed here (please sign up here if you haven’t already). At the end of the giveaway period, we do a random draw, and the publishers ship copies directly to the winners. Good luck!

Book cover: God Isn't Here Today (9781988784946)

God Isn't Here Today

by (author) Francine Cunningham

For fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joyce Carol Oates, and Karen Russell, the stories in Francine Cunningham’s debut collection God Isn’t Here Today ricochet between form and genre, taking readers on a dark, irreverent, yet poignant journey led by a unique and powerful new voice.

Driven by desperation into moments of transformation, Cunningham’s characters are presented with moments of choice—some for the better and some for the worse. A young man goes to God’s office downtown for advice; a woman discovers she is the last human on Earth; an ice cream vendor is driven insane by his truck’s song; an ageing stripper uses undergarments to enact her escape plan; an incubus tires of his professional grind; and a young woman inherits a power that has survived genocide, but comes with a burden of its own

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
5

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Good Mom on Paper (9781771667470)

Good Mom on Paper

Writers on Creativity and Motherhood

edited by Stacey May Fowles & Jen Sookfong Lee

The experience of motherhood is monumental, yet rarely discussed in connection with literary or creative life. How do we navigate the twin devotions of love and art? How does motherhood disrupt the creative process? How does it enhance it?

Good Mom on Paper is a collection of twenty essays that goes beyond the clichés to explore the fraught, beautiful, and complicated relationship between motherhood and creativity. These texts disclose the often-invisible challenges of a literary life with little ones: the manuscript written with a baby sleeping in a carrier, missing a book launch for a bedtime, crafting a promotional tour around child care. But they also celebrate the systems that nurture writers who are mothers; the successes; the intricate, interconnected joys of these roles.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
4

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Ezra's Ghosts (9781774390474)

Ezra's Ghosts

Stories

by (author) Darcy Tamayose

Award-winning author Darcy Tamayose returns with Ezra's Ghosts, a collection of fantastical stories linked by a complex mingling of language and culture, as well as a deep understanding of grief and what it makes of us. Within these pages a scholar writes home from the Ryukyu islands, not knowing that his hometown will soon face a deadly calamity of its own. Another seeker of truth is trapped in Ezra after her violent death, and must watch how her family--and her killer--alter in her absence. The oldest man in town, an immigrant who came to Canada to escape imperial hardships, sprouts wings, and a wounded journalist bears witness to his transformation. Finally, past and present collide as a researcher reflects on the recent skinwars that have completely altered the world's topography. Binding the stories together is an intersection of arrival and departure--in a quiet prairie town called Ezra.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
6

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Hear & Beyond (9781774581605)

Hear & Beyond

Live Skillfully with Hearing Loss

by (author) Shari Eberts & Gael Hannan

Hearing loss doesn't come with an operating manual—until now. 

Informed by the lived experiences of thousands of people living with hearing loss, and corroborated by hearing science, technological advances, and modern hearing-care principles, Hear & Beyond offers a new way forward to greater connection and engagement—whether you're new to hearing loss or have been living with it for a long time.

Hearing loss is just one aspect of who you are, among many others. You may have hearing loss, but it doesn't have to have you.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
3

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Blue Portugal and Other Essays (9781772125993)

Blue Portugal and Other Essays

by (author) Theresa Kishkan

Using the richness of braided essays, Theresa Kishkan thinks deeply about the natural world, mourns and celebrates the aging body, gently contests recorded history, and considers art and visual phenomena. Gathering personal genealogies, medical histories, and early land surveys together with insights from music, colour theory, horticulture, and textile production, Kishkan weaves a pattern of richly textured threads, welcoming readers to share her intellectual and emotional preoccupations. With an intimate awareness of place and time, a deep sensitivity to family, and a poetic delight in travel, local food and wine, and dogs, Blue Portugal and Other Essays offers up a sense of wonder at the interconnectedness of all things.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
5

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Waking Occupations (9780771099397)

Waking Occupations

Poems

by (author) Phoebe Wang

This astonishing new collection of poems contemplates our obligations to live in a creative, generative, and revolutionary way amid a cascade of global contingencies.
 
In a four-part meditation on what it means to live on occupied land and in colonial time, the subject of these poems has moved beyond arriving and departing and wakes each day to meet her commitments and to heal from complicities, exclusions, difficult truths and the pandemic of forgetting. It follows the figure of the female artist as a time-travelling woman, embodied by mother and daughter, through the gallery of memory. The poems enact brief encounters with objects, events, and works of art that hold us accountable. Finally, a set of shadow elegies mourn what the next generation has already lost, while searching for traces of the wild and for ceremonies that might mend us.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
4

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.

Book cover: Up The Coast (9781774390511)

Up The Coast

One Family's Wild Life in the Forests of British Columbia

by (author) Kathryn Willcock

Kathryn Willcock and her sisters grew up in logging camps on the coast of B.C. in the 1960s when children were set loose to play in the wilderness, women kept rifles next to the wood stove, and loggers risked their lives every single day. The author's tales of grizzly bears, American tourists, and a couple of terrified gangsters, along with the wisdom of Indigenous elders, pour off the page like warm syrup on a stack of cookhouse hotcakes.

Giveaway period ends
May 28, 2022
Copies available
3
Members entered
8

You need to be logged in to enter to win. Have an account already? Sign In. Need an account? Sign Up. It's easy and just takes a minute.