Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Nonfiction General

Canada Moves West

by (author) Pierre Berton

foreword by Arthur Slade

Fifth House Books
Initial publish date
Sep 2005
General, General, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Sep 2005
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Pierre Berton's Canada Moves West is a rousing collection of five young-adult non-fiction books by revered author Pierre Berton that describes how, back in the days of the pioneers, the Canadian west was won, with blood, sweat, tears, and sheer determination.

Originally printed as separate volumes in the Adventures in Canadian History series, the titles in this omnibus include: The Railway Pathfinders; The Men in Sheepskin Coats; A Prairie Nightmare; Steel Across the Plains; and Steel Across the Shield. Although the books read like novels, with exciting story lines and vivid characters, there is archival evidence for every story and, indeed, very remark made on their pages' nothing has been made up. Berton's ability to infuse history and its characters with the excitement, personality, and immediacy of contemporary events appeals strongly to young readers. The reading level is appropriate for Grade 5 and up, but the interest level carries well into adult reading.

About the authors

Pierre Berton, well-known and well-loved Canadian author, journalist, and media personality, hailed from Whitehorse, Yukon. During his career, he wrote fifty books for adults and twenty-two for children, popularizing Canadian history and culture and reflecting on his life and times. With more than thirty literary awards and a dozen honorary degrees to his credit, Berton was also a Companion of the Order of Canada.

Pierre Berton's profile page

The first volume in ARTHUR SLADE’s Hunchback Assignments series won the prestigious TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, and the second volume, The Dark Deeps, was a finalist for the Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award and the CLA Young Adult Book Award. Slade is also the author of Dust, a national bestseller and the winner of the 2001 Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature, the Mr. Christie’s Book Award and the Saskatchewan Book Award for Children’s Literature. His other books include Tribes, Megiddo’s Shadow, Jolted, Monsterology, Villainology and the Canadian Chills series. He lives in Saskatoon. Visit him online at

Arthur Slade's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Berton's storytelling is, as ever, lyrical, inspiring and informative. . . The collection is a wonderful resource for all students of Canadian history."

-- Resource Links rated Excellent

"Canada Moves West is history bundled as first rate adventure."
-- CM (Canadian Materials)

Other titles by Pierre Berton

Other titles by Arthur Slade