Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction Vampires

Amber Fang: Betrayal

by (author) Arthur Slade

Publisher
Orca Book Publishers
Initial publish date
Sep 2019
Category
Vampires, Dark Fantasy, General
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781459822726
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $14.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781459822740
    Publish Date
    Sep 2019
    List Price
    $18.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
  • Reading age: 12 to 18

Description

For Amber Fang, life used to be simple: study library science by day, read by night and, when she got hungry, enjoy an ethical meal straight from the jugular.

Amber's mother taught her well. It's just good manners for vampires to eat only murderers. But now her mom has vanished, and Amber is alone. Her contract work as an assassin has been terminated. But the secret organization ZARC is still trying to hunt her down, using algorithms, drones and a murderess with metal hands. Through the dark web Amber learns that her long-lost mother has been "disappeared" to a secret compound in Antarctica. When Amber arrives and pries open a door to investigate, what she discovers shocks her to the core. And it will change her life forever. If she survives.

Amber Fang: Betrayal is the second book in the popular Amber Fang series.

About the author

The first volume in ARTHUR SLADE’s Hunchback Assignments series won the prestigious TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, and the second volume, The Dark Deeps, was a finalist for the Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award and the CLA Young Adult Book Award. Slade is also the author of Dust, a national bestseller and the winner of the 2001 Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature, the Mr. Christie’s Book Award and the Saskatchewan Book Award for Children’s Literature. His other books include Tribes, Megiddo’s Shadow, Jolted, Monsterology, Villainology and the Canadian Chills series. He lives in Saskatoon. Visit him online at arthurslade.com.

Arthur Slade's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“This fast-paced book is full of adventure and suspense at every turn. It is well written and will keep readers on the edge of their seats. The constant plot twists and multiple themes will engage and entertain adolescent and young adult readers.”

Must Read Literature: K thru YA

“Funnier and more explosive than the first, with an enjoyable mix of mystery, espionage, and paranormal elements, with bonus librarian joshing.”

Booklist

“For readers who enjoyed the first book, this sequel continues with the same strengths: well-described action scenes, clever insults and bad puns, sneaky literary references, and the glamour of international travel.”

Resource Links

“Top-notch supernatural thrillers...The Amber Fang novels are an absolute hoot, relentlessly gripping, and genuinely surprising…For many readers, Amber Fang will serve as a midpoint between Disney’s Kim Possible and Kristi Charish’s Kincaid Strange.”

Quill & Quire

“A fast-paced, entertaining middle entry for fans of vampires and librarians.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Genuinely funny on many levels, the Amber Fang books are quick, enjoyable reads for fans of Mission Impossible and Marvel movies and readers who like their vampires campy. Recommended.”

CM: Canadian Review of Materials

Other titles by Arthur Slade