On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443438643_cover Enlarge Cover
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover Audiobook eBook
published: Sep 2016
ISBN:9781443438636
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperTrophy

The Nest

by Kenneth Oppel, illustrated by Jon Klassen

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
horror & ghost stories
4 of 5
1 rating
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover Audiobook eBook
published: Sep 2016
ISBN:9781443438636
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: HarperTrophy
Description

A New York Times Editor’s Choice and a Best Book of the Year in the Globe and Mail, Publishers Weekly, Horn Book, School Library Journal and The Wall Street Journal, called “a masterpiece” (Globe and Mail) and now in paperback

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn’t see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

”We’ve come because of the baby,” she said. “We’ve come to help.”

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, the boy unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

About the Authors

Kenneth Oppel

KENNETH OPPEL wrote his first novel at age fourteen and hasn’t looked back. His books include the Silverwing series, which has sold over a million copies around the world; Airborn, winner of a Governor General’s Award and the Michael L. Printz Award; and his latest, Inkling, which the New York Times called “astonishing.” Ken Oppel lives with his family in Toronto. You can find him online at kennethoppel.ca and on Twitter at @kennethoppel.

 

Author profile page >

Jon Klassen

KENNETH OPPEL wrote his first novel at age fourteen and hasn’t looked back. His books include the Silverwing series, which has sold over a million copies around the world; Airborn, winner of a Governor General’s Award and the Michael L. Printz Award; and his latest, Inkling, which the New York Times called “astonishing.” Ken Oppel lives with his family in Toronto. You can find him online at kennethoppel.ca and on Twitter at @kennethoppel.

 

Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
10 to 100
Grade:
5 to 17
Awards
  • , Publishers Weekly Best Book
  • , CLA Children’s Book of the Year Award Winner
  • , Silver Birch Award Finalist
  • , CBC Best Book of the Year
  • , Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year
  • , Horn Book Fanfare
  • , School Library Journal Best Book
Editorial Reviews

“With subtle, spine-chilling horror at its heart, this tale of triumph over monsters-both outside and in-is outstanding . . . a match made in kid-lit heaven.”

— Booklist <strong>(starred review)</strong>

School Library Journal Book of the Year Publishers’ Weekly Book of the Year Horn Book Fanfare Book New York Times’ Editors’ Choice Wall Street Journal Book of the Year Indigo Books Book of the Year

— No Source

“This quiet yet emotionally haunting book thoughtfully explores themes of safety, anxiety, and the beauty of the imperfect . . . [An] affecting middle grade psychological thriller.”

— School Library Journal <strong>(starred review)</strong>

“A tight and focused story about the dangers of wishing things back to normal at any cost . . . the emotional resonance is deep, and Steve’s precarious interactions with the honey-voiced queen make one’s skin crawl.”

— Horn Book <strong>(starred review)</strong>

“A masterpiece, and deeply heartening proof that two of our country’s best artists are continuing to take risks and grow artistically, even at the height of their careers.”

— The Globe and Mail

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “The Nest”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...