Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Drama Anthologies (multiple Authors)

Sharon Pollock: Three Plays

by (author) Sharon Pollock

introduction by Sherrill Grace

Playwrights Canada Press
Initial publish date
May 2003
Anthologies (multiple authors)
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 2003
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it



Moving Pictures
Based on the life and autobiography of the actress and independent filmmaker Nell Shipman.

End Dream
Return to the hot summer of July 1924 in Vancouverâ??s wealthy Shaughnessy Heights to re-open the famous, unsolved case of Janet Smith, the English nanny found dead in her employerâ??s basement

Angelâ??s Trumpet
Revisits the story of Zelda and Scott Fitzgerald to pose some questions. At stake is nothing less than art and sanityâ??his art and her sanity.

About the authors

Sharon Pollock
Sharon Pollock was born Mary Sharon Chalmers in Fredericton, New Brunswick, in 1936, where she first became involved in the theatre in university. Later, with the Praire Players, she toured British Columbia and Alberta in 1966, and was voted Best Actress at the Dominion Drama Festival. She settled in Calgary the next year, raised a family, and while pregnant with her sixth child she began writing her first play. In 1973, Walsh (1983) premiered at Theatre Calgary. A subsequent production in 1974 at the Stratford Festival brought Pollock’s writing to wide public attention. She has written many plays, including Blood Relations and Other Plays, which won the Governor General’s Award in 1981, and Doc (1985), which won the Governor General’s Award in 1986.

Sharon Pollock's profile page

Sherrill Grace
Sherrill Grace is a professor of English and theatre at the University of British Columbia. She is former President, Academy I, of the Royal Society of Canada. She has lectured widely in North America, as well as in Germany, Italy, England, Belgium, France, China and Japan.

A member of several professional associations, including the Association of Canadian Studies, the Canadian Association of American Studies, the Association of Canadian College and University Teachers of English, the Canadian Comparative Literature Association, the Modern Languages Association and the International Association of Professors of English, Grace was awarded the prestigious Killam Teaching Prize in 2008, and in 2009 she received the Ann Saddlemyer Award for her biography Making Theatre: A Life of Sharon Pollock.

Sherrill Grace's profile page

Other titles by Sharon Pollock

Other titles by Sherrill Grace