Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Where the Land Gets Broken

by (author) Walter Hildebrandt

Ekstasis Editions
Initial publish date
Jan 2004
Canadian, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jan 2004
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The poetry in Where the Land Gets Broken looks to the margins of society to discover the forgotten stories, those tales that lie outside traditional histories. His poems are not just “one damn thing after another” but are layered and acknowledge the complex tapestries and multi-dimensional perspectives that leave us with histories, not a single History.

About the author

Historian and poet Walter Hildebrant was born in Brooks, Alberta and now lives in Edmonton. He has worked as an historian for Parks Canada and as a consultant to the Treaty 7 Tribal Council, the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the Banff Bow Valley Task Force. He is co-author of The True Spirit and Original Intent of Treaty 7 and The Cypress Hills: The Land and Its People, and author of Views From Battleford: Constructed Visions of an Anglo-Canadian West. His long poem Sightings was nominated for the 1992 McNally-Robinson Book of the Year for Manitoba. His book Where the Land Gets Broken won the Stephen G. Stephensson Award for Poetry in 2005. He is presently the Director of the Athabasca University Press. This is his seventh book of poetry.

Walter Hildebrandt's profile page

Other titles by Walter Hildebrandt