Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Now Time / Jetztzeit / Nunc Stans

by (author) Walter Hildebrandt

Ekstasis Editions
Initial publish date
Oct 2015
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2015
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


This volume contains two long docu-poems, one about Berlin and the other Orgreave. The long poem form allows Hildebrandt to explore multiple themes and allows numerous threads to be started, followed and interwoven throughout the poems. “Berlin 2013” weaves his own personal history with that of well-known events of the 20th century including the rise of the Nazis, the building of the Berlin Wall and ultimately it’s dismantling. Hildebrandt explores a number of forms for representing history including novels, graffiti and the movie Don’t Come Knocking by Wim Wenders. “Orgreave June 18, 1984: Accounts of the English Civil War” is inspired by the conceptual art of Jeremy Deller who staged a reenactment of the 1984 miners’ strike in the U.K., where Margaret Thatcher’s government closed coal mines, provoked and attached strikers. The full story of the events that unfolded are not well known but with this long poem and Deller’s documentary, Hildebrandt endeavours to ensure that this history will not be forgotten. Hildebrandt’s writing is inspired by the Continental philosophers including Theodore Adorno, Walter Benjamin, Jacques Rancière, Alain Badiou and Giorgio Agamben. The historical events Hildebrandt explores are moments of Kairos or in Walter Benjamin’s philosophy moments of “messianic time” when the pace of history changes. Hildebrandt uses Kairos in a radical sense as opposed to accepting time as Chronos or clock ticking time. Hildebrandt’s language is forceful and unadorned urging readers to confront stories hiding in plain sight.

About the author

Historian and poet Walter Hildebrant was born in Brooks, Alberta and now lives in Edmonton. He has worked as an historian for Parks Canada and as a consultant to the Treaty 7 Tribal Council, the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the Banff Bow Valley Task Force. He is co-author of The True Spirit and Original Intent of Treaty 7 and The Cypress Hills: The Land and Its People, and author of Views From Battleford: Constructed Visions of an Anglo-Canadian West. His long poem Sightings was nominated for the 1992 McNally-Robinson Book of the Year for Manitoba. His book Where the Land Gets Broken won the Stephen G. Stephensson Award for Poetry in 2005. He is presently the Director of the Athabasca University Press. This is his seventh book of poetry.

Walter Hildebrandt's profile page

Other titles by Walter Hildebrandt