Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Short Stories (single Author)

Vanilla and Other Stories

by (author) Candas Jane Dorsey

NeWest Press
Initial publish date
May 2000
Short Stories (single author)
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    May 2000
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Vanilla and other stories gathers together a selection of twenty-five years of the mainstream and slipstream short fiction by Dorsey. In sharp contrast to the raw and sometimes harsh realities depicted in this collection, Dorsey’s stories are couched in beautiful, lucent language that is cumulatively lyrical and relentless.

About the author

Candas Jane Dorsey is an internationally-known, award-winning author of several novels, four poetry books; several anthologies edited/co-edited, and numerous published stories, poems, reviews, and critical essays. Her most recent fiction includes novels The Adventures of Isabel; What's the Matter with Mary Jane?; and The Man Who Wasn't There; and short fiction Vanilla and Other Stories and . For fourteen years, she was the editor/publisher of the literary press, The Books Collective, including River Books and, for a time, Tesseract Books. She was founding president of SFCanada, and has been president of the Writers Guild of Alberta. She has received a variety of awards and honours for her books and short fiction, including most recently, the 2017 the WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Literary Arts. She was inducted into the City of Edmonton Arts and Cultural Hall of Fame in 2019. She is also a community activist, advocate and leader who has served on many community boards and committees for working for neighbourhoods, heritage, social planning and human rights advocacy. She lives in Edmonton, Alberta.

Candas Jane Dorsey's profile page

Other titles by Candas Jane Dorsey