On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781643851136_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $35.99
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781643851136
publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Remembering the Dead

A Penny Brannigan Mystery

by Elizabeth J. Duncan

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
cozy, amateur sleuth, women sleuths
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $35.99
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781643851136
publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Description

In award-winning author Elizabeth J. Duncan's tenth Penny Brannigan mystery set in North Wales, Canadian amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan attends a dinner party at a posh country house--where a historic chair disappears and a waiter is murdered.

Artist and spa owner Penny Brannigan has been asked to organize a formal dinner to mark the centenary of the armistice that ended World War One. After dinner, the guests adjourn to the library for a private exhibition of the Black Chair, a precious piece of Welsh literary history awarded in 1917 to poet Hedd Wyn. But to the guests' shock, the newly restored bardic chair is missing. And then Penny discovers the rain-soaked body of a waiter.

When Penny learns that the victim was the nephew of one of her employees, she is determined to find the killer. Meanwhile, the local police search for the Black Chair. The Prince of Wales is due to open an exhibit featuring the chair in three weeks, so time is not on their side. A visit to a nursing home to consult an ex-thief convinces Penny that the theft of the Black Chair and the waiter's murder are connected. She rushes to Dublin to consult a disagreeable antiquarian, who might know more than he lets on, and during the course of her investigation confronts a gaggle of suspicious travelers and an eccentric herbalist who seems to have something to hide. Can Penny find the chair and the culprit before she is laid to rest in the green grass of Wales?

Contributor Notes

Elizabeth J. Duncan is a winner of the Bloody Words Best Light Mystery Award and has been a finalist for the Agatha and Arthur Ellis Awards. She has worked as a writer and editor for some of Canada's largest newspapers, including the Ottawa Citizen and Hamilton Spectator. Duncan is a faculty member of the Humber School for Writers. She lives in Toronto, Canada and enjoys spending time each year in North Wales.

Editorial Review

Praise for Remembering the Dead:
"A soupçon of history and a whiff of lost romance combine for an unpredictable mystery."
Kirkus Reviews

"For series fans and lovers of Welsh history and lore."  
Publishers Weekly

"This cozy contains numerous plot twists and is steeped in Welsh history, populated with full-bodied characters, and surrounded by lovingly described Welsh and Irish locales."
Booklist

"The charming characters will appeal to Jane K. Cleland's readers."
Library Journal

Praise for Elizabeth J. Duncan:

"Fans of Louise Penny will love this book." —RT Reviews on A Brush with Death

“Fans of small-town cozies will find a lot to like.”
?Publishers Weekly on Murder on the Hour

"Sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie."
Library Journal on A Brush with Death

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...