Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Literary Criticism Canadian

Morley Callaghan: Essays, Reviews, Meditations and Talks


by (author) Morley Callaghan

Exile Editions
Initial publish date
Apr 2008
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Apr 2008
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Capturing the 20th-century literary world, this collection of nonfiction work includes essays, reviews, and articles concerning the personalities and events between 1928 and 1990. Starting in the 1920s with Virginia Woolf and James Joyce, the reflections move through the decades covering everything from war propaganda to the life of a writer.

About the author

Morley Callaghan was the author of fifteen novels, including A Time for Judas, It's Never Over, The Loved and the Lost, and Such Is My Beloved. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature and received a host of honours in Canada, including the Governor General's Award for Fiction.

Morley Callaghan's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Over sixty years of wonderfully explorative and insightfully written essays by the master of belles letters."  —Michael Keefer, The Globe and Mail

Other titles by Morley Callaghan