Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Historical

It's Never Over

by (author) Morley Callaghan

introduction by Norman Snider

Exile Editions
Initial publish date
Nov 2011
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2011
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2004
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Combining romance with the darker side of human nature, this novel opens with the hanging of an ex-World War I soldier for involuntary murder. The element of violence blends with a love story involving the late soldier’s sister, who seeks to possess the life of her brother’s closest friend, John Hughes. Hughes then finds himself drawn into the circle affected by the hanging, contemplating murdering the sister himself. Capturing the terror of a war abroad as it penetrates the tranquility of a small town, this tale illustrates how a man’s death can haunt those who endure his execution.

About the authors

Morley Callaghan was the author of fifteen novels, including A Time for Judas, It's Never Over, The Loved and the Lost, and Such Is My Beloved. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature and received a host of honours in Canada, including the Governor General's Award for Fiction.

Morley Callaghan's profile page

Norman Snider of Toronto is a screenwriter, journalist, professor, and fiction writer. He wrote the screenplay for the film Casino Jack, starring Kevin Spacey the film premiered at the 2010 Toronto International Film Festival, and is available in full as the first book of the Exile Silver Screen Series. He has also published Smokescreen: One Man Against the Underworld and The Roaring 80s & Other Good Times.

Norman Snider's profile page

Other titles by Morley Callaghan

Other titles by Norman Snider