Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian


a poetry manuscript

by (author) Tanis MacDonald

Turnstone Press
Initial publish date
Sep 2003
Canadian, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Sep 2003
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Nominated for the Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher (Manitoba Writing and Publishing Awards)."Tanis MacDonald probes the miracles, accidents, dumb luck, and rogue chromosomes that swirl beneath the surface of who we think we are. MacDonald weaves folklore, history and myth while keeping her cowboy boots firmly planted on Canadian soil."--Jeanette Lynes, author of The Aging Cheerleaders Alphabet

About the author

Tanis MacDonald is the author of two books of poetry: Fortune (2003) and Holding Ground (2000), and is the winner of the 2003 Bliss Carman Poetry Prize. She has published articles on the poetry of P.K. Page, Lorna Crozier, and Anne Carson. She teaches English at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario.

Di Brandt’s poetry titles include questions I asked my mother (1987), Agnes in the sky (1990), Jerusalem, beloved (1995), and most recently, Now You Care (2004). She has received numerous awards for her poetry, including the CAA National Poetry Prize, the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award, and the Gerald Lampert Award. Di Brandt recently returned to the Manitoba prairies, her home, after a decade away, to take up a Canada Research Chair in Creative Writing at Brandon University.

Tanis MacDonald's profile page

Other titles by Tanis MacDonald