Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction General

Dear Canada 10th Anniversary Collection (10 Books)

by (author) Jean Little

Scholastic Canada Ltd
Initial publish date
Oct 2011
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2011
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.


Celebrating 10 years of Dear Canada. Through the years. Across the country. Make history your own.

In honour of Dear Canada's 10th Anniversary, this gorgeous 10 book collection features Canadian readers' 10 favourite books over the years - including the brand new Dear Canada: That Fatal Night The Titanic Diary of Dorothy Wilton.

Included in the collection:
Dear Canada: A Desperate Road to Freedom
Dear Canada: No Safe Harbour
Dear Canada: Exiles from the War
Dear Canda: If I Die Before I Wake
Dear Canada: Not a Nickel to Spare
Dear Canada: Days of Toil and Tears
Dear Canada: Orphan at My Door
Dear Canada: Blood upon Our Land
Dear Canada: Turned Away
Dear Canada: That Fatal Night

About the author

Jean Little was born in Taiwan in 1932. Her parents were both doctors. Jean grew up in Ontario and graduated from the University of Toronto. She was born with a severe eye problem and is severely visually impaired. A special "talking" computer assists her with her writing. She has a retired seeing-eye dog named Ritz and a new one named Pippa, with whom she travels. The author focuses on her experiences from the time she was a child through young adulthood in her autobiography, Little by Little, and continues her story in Stars Come Out Within. The books, which will appeal to children 10 and older, are both humorous and poignant as Jean describes living with a disability and the ridicule she sometimes experienced as a result, as well as her love for the world of reading and books. Jean's books include From Anna, Listen for the Singing, Stand In The Wind, Mama's Going To Buy You a Mockingbird, Hey World, Here I Am!, Look through My Window, Emma's Yucky Brother, The Belonging Place, and Mine For Keeps. Listen for the Singing was the Canada Council Children's Literature Award winner in 1977. Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird was the CLA Book of the Year in 1985.
Jean Little's first book, Mine for Keeps, won the Little, Brown Children's Book Award in 1962 and was republished by Viking Penguin in 1995. It tells the story of Sally Copeland, a 10 year old with cerebral palsy, and her adjustment to being home after spending several years in a special school. You'll find that several of the themes in this book appear in a number of the author's other books: dealing with a handicap and the responses of others, fitting in, and adjusting to new situations and surroundings.


Jean Little's profile page

Other titles by Jean Little