On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771646314_interior Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781771646314

Catch the Sky

by Robert Heidbreder, illustrated by Emily Dove

0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781771646314
Description

“Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves.”—Kirkus 

In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids’ spirits and let their imaginations soar.

What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this “lyrical” picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8, the award-winning and critically-acclaimed children’s poet, Robert Heidbreder, shares thirty memorable poems that capture the magic and beauty of all the wonderful things kids can see when they gaze at the sky. Gorgeous illustrations by artist and naturalist Emily Dove depict a diverse cast of children playing and cheering under a sky filled with birds and balloons, snow and shooting stars, sunflowers and falling leaves, and helicopters and kites.

“A multicultural cast of children are shown reveling in the outdoors. Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.”
Booklist

About the Authors

Robert Heidbreder is an award-winning children’s poet and author. His many books include I Wished for a Unicorn, Drumheller Dinosaur Dance, Song for a Summer Night and Rooster Summer. Robert spent thirty years as a primary school teacher and has won the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence. He lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, and continues to do many school and festival presentations.

Author profile page >

Robert Heidbreder is an award-winning children’s poet and author. His many books include I Wished for a Unicorn, Drumheller Dinosaur Dance, Song for a Summer Night and Rooster Summer. Robert spent thirty years as a primary school teacher and has won the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence. He lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, and continues to do many school and festival presentations.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

ROBERT HEIDBREDER is an award-winning author who, for thirty years, taught primary-grade children, who in turn taught him to love playing with language. He lives in North Vancouver, BC.

EMILY DOVE is an illustrator, author, and certified naturalist who uses illustration as a tool to educate and inspire others. She lives in Cleveland, Ohio.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
3 to 8
Grade:
p to 4
Editorial Review

“Deceptively simple... clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves….this author makes the rhyming, alliteration, and scansion seem effortless.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A multicultural cast of children are shown revelling in the outdoors and witnessing much of what it has to offer. … Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.”
Booklist

Buy this book at:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Catch the Sky”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...