Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Political Science Democracy

Back to Blakeney

The Revitalization of the Democratic State

edited by David McGrane, John Whyte, Roy Romanow & Russell Isinger

University of Regina Press
Initial publish date
Aug 2019
Democracy, Post-Confederation (1867-), Communism & Socialism
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Aug 2019
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Aug 2019
    List Price
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Aug 2019
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Allan Blakeney believed in government as a force for good. As premier of Saskatchewan, he promoted social justice through government intervention in the economy and the welfare state. He created legal and constitutional structures that guaranteed strong human rights, and he safeguarded the integrity of the voting system to support a robust democracy. Blakeney encouraged excellence in public administration to deliver the best possible services and used taxes to help secure equality of opportunity.

In Back to Blakeney, a diverse set of scholars reflects on Blakeney’s achievements, as well as his constitutional legacy—namely, the notwithstanding clause—and explores the challenges facing democracy today.

“I can think of no other biographical work in this country that is so competent in its multi-faceted approach to its subject.” —David Edward Smith, author of The Constitution in a Hall of Mirrors: Canada at 150

Contributors: Michael Atkinson (University of Saskatchewan), Simone Chambers (University of California Irvine), David Coletto (Carleton University), John Courtney (University of Saskatchewan), Alex Himelfarb (University of Toronto), Russell Isinger (University of Saskatchewan), Gregory P. Marchildon (University of Toronto), David McGrane (University of Saskatchewan), Dwight Newman (University of Saskatchewan), Roy Romanow (Chancellor, University of Saskatchewan), Melanee Thomas (University of Calgary), Katherine Walker (University of British Columbia), Reg Whitaker (University of Victoria), John Whyte (University of Regina), Nelson Wiseman (University of Toronto)

About the authors

David McGrane is associate professor of political studies at St Thomas More College at the University of Saskatchewan and the editor of New Directions in Saskatchewan Public Policy.

David McGrane's profile page

John Whyte taught law and served as Dean of Law at Queen's University. He served as Saskatchewan's Director of Constitutional Law during Canada's constitutional patriation process and later served as Saskatchewan's Deputy Attorney General and Deputy Minister of Justice. 

John Whyte's profile page

Roy Romanow served as Premier of Saskatchewan from 1991 to 2001. He is currently Chancellor of University of Saskatchewan. He lives in Saskatoon.

Roy Romanow's profile page

Russell Isinger is the registrar at the University of Saskatchewan and a professional affiliate with the Department of Political Studies, University of Saskatchewan.

Russell Isinger's profile page


  • Winner, Saskatchewan Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Editorial Reviews

Winner, Saskatchewan Book Award for Scholarly Writing​, 2020

Other titles by David McGrane

Other titles by John Whyte

Other titles by Roy Romanow

Related lists