Recommended Reading List
2019 Alcuin Society Book Design Awards
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

2019 Alcuin Society Book Design Awards

By 49thShelf
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
tagged:
The Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada is the only national competition for book design in the country. This year’s judges, Teresa Bubela, Emma Novotny, and Matt Warburton, selected 53 winning titles from 237 submissions, from 9 provinces and 112 publishers. This year’s book design winners are:
Hello, Crow

Hello, Crow

edition:Hardcover

“A wonderful way to introduce young readers to the natural world that lurks just outside their windows.”
—Globe Books

Will Franny ever prove to her dad that crows and kids can be friends?

Franny has a new friend—a crow who brings her presents in its beak. Like a red button! And a silver heart! Franny’s dad doesn’t believe her. He says crows and kids can’t be friends. But Franny knows better. How will Franny prove her new playmate is real? And what will the crafty crow bring next?

Awar …

More Info
Anne's Alphabet

Anne's Alphabet

Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
illustrated by Kelly Hill
edition:Hardcover

A must-have board book for Anne of Green Gables fans, with charming, hand-embroidered illustrations.

Iconic moments from the beloved L.M. Montgomery classic are celebrated in this adorable concept book. Artist Kelly Hill creates vignettes of the most recognizable moments from Anne of Green Gables, including nosy neighbor, freckles, kindred spirits and imagination.

Each letter of the alphabet is brought to life through a memorable Anne scene, with simple text and tactile, gorgeous works of art cre …

More Info
Hawks Kettle, Puffins Wheel

Hawks Kettle, Puffins Wheel

And Other Poems of Birds in Flight
edition:Hardcover

This lyrical celebration of birds explores the fascinating ways these creatures move through the air. For each of twelve birds from around the world, a captivating poem describes the animal's distinctive movement and the special word associated with that movement, from geese who skein and puffins who wheel, to crows who mob and starlings who murmurate. The evocative language conveys the beauty of each bird and describes the sights and sounds of how each one makes its own unmistakable way in the …

More Info
It Began With a Page

It Began With a Page

How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way
by Kyo Maclear
illustrated by Julie Morstad
edition:Hardcover

Gyo Fujikawa's iconic children's books are beloved all over the world. Now it's time for Gyo's story to be told -- a story of artistic talent that refused to be constrained by rules or expectations.

Growing up quiet and lonely at the beginning of the twentieth century, Gyo learned from her relatives the ways in which both women and Japanese people lacked opportunity. Her teachers and family believed in her and sent her to art school and later Japan, where her talent flourished. But while Gyo's ca …

More Info
King Mouse

King Mouse

by Cary Fagan
illustrated by Dena Seiferling
edition:Hardcover

King Mouse finds his authority in question when his subjects find crowns of their own. A gentle and humorous modern fable about imaginative play and kindness in the tradition of classics like Little Bear and Frog and Toad.

A sweet, thoughtful tale of friendship, sharing and play, King Mouse begins when a mouse comes upon a tiny crown in the grass. The mouse puts the crown on his head, and when a bear subsequently comes upon him and asks if he's king, the mouse responds "Yes."

This diminutive monar …

More Info
Alma and the Beast

Alma and the Beast

edition:Hardcover

Alma's beautiful, hairy world is turned upside down by the arrival of a stranger. From the utterly original imagination of the author-illustrator of Ooko comes a story about celebrating differences and making new friends. For fans of Where the Wild Things Are and Wild.

Alma lives happily in her hairy world, where she can braid the trees, comb the grass, pet the roof and feed her plumpooshkie butterfly. Until one day . . . a hairless, button-nosed beast appears in the garden! At first Alma is scar …

More Info
Beastly Puzzles

Beastly Puzzles

A Brain-Boggling Animal Guessing Game
edition:Hardcover

This book asks children: If you're given a list of features and characteristics, can you guess which animal they make? This might seem easy enough. But solving the puzzles in this book is deviously, outrageously, almost impossibly tricky! Though the thirteen animals included are easily recognizable --- such as polar bear, snail, ostrich, pufferfish --- the clues are unexpected. For example: “3 billiard balls,” “dinosaur feet” and “five feather dusters.” And to further complicate matt …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...