Recommended Reading List
Alcuin Society Award Winners 2016
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

Alcuin Society Award Winners 2016

By 49thShelf
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
ALCUIN SOCIETY’S 43 BEST-LOOKING BOOKS OF 2015 Vancouver, BC – The Alcuin Society has announced the winners of its 34th annual competition, The Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada, held Saturday March 19th. Awards will be presented this fall in both Toronto and Vancouver. The winning books will be entered in the international book design competition in Leipzig, Germany in February 2017. They will be exhibited in Germany at the Frankfurt and Leipzig Book Fairs; in Japan, at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo, in conjunction with the Tokyo International Book Fair; and in every province of Canada. The venues are listed on our web site. This year’s judges, Teresa Bubela, Denise Lapointe, and Paul Roelofs, selected 43 winning titles from 230 entries, from 9 provinces and 99 publishers. This year’s book design winners are...
Sidewalk Flowers

Sidewalk Flowers

by JonArno Lawson
illustrated by Sydney Smith
edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook

Winner of the Governor General's Literary Award for Children's Illustrated Book

A New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of the Year

In this wordless picture book, a little girl collects wildflowers while her distracted father pays her little attention. Each flower becomes a gift, and whether the gift is noticed or ignored, both giver and recipient are transformed by their encounter.

“Written” by award-winning poet JonArno Lawson and brought to life by illustrator Sydney Smith, Sidew …

More Info
Anna Banana

Anna Banana

45 Years of Fooling Around with A. Banana
edition:Hardcover
tagged : conceptual

Widely recognized and admired in countercultural communities but overlooked by the mainstream for decades, Anna Banana has been fearlessly challenging convention as Town Fool and Doktor Anna Freud, producing parodic publications, creating and exchanging artist's stamps and other original artworks and staging banana-themed events that she documents for a network of like-minded artists around the world. It is this vibrant community of creative individuals that has both fuelled her work and embrace …

More Info
Keeping Watch at the End of the World

Keeping Watch at the End of the World

edition:Paperback
tagged : canadian

In Keeping Watch at the End of the World, Harry Thurston explores the ways in which poetry stands sentinel at the edge-places where known and unknown meet. Whether that frontier lies between land and sea, present and past, health and illness, or youth and aging, Thurston holds that the poet’s duty is to survey the horizon and “see things before they take shape,” chronicling occurrences both acute and remote. A poet-naturalist in the tradition of Thoreau, Thurston reminds us of the importan …

More Info
Harmless

Harmless

edition:Paperback

Set over the course of a single day and night, Harmless is a tense, provocative, and psychologically astute first novel in the tradition of Herman Koch's The Dinner, Tom Perrotta’s Little Children, and Christos Tsiolkas’s The Slap, about a weekend reunion of old friends that takes a terrifying turn when two teenage girls go missing.
 
At a remote farm, a group of old friends gather to catch up, sit by the fire, and forget about their overworked lives. But a long weekend in the country is …

More Info
In Flanders Fields: 100 Years

In Flanders Fields: 100 Years

Writing on War, Loss and Remembrance
edited by Amanda Betts
edition:Hardcover

A beautifully designed collection of essays on war, loss and remembrance to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the writing of Canada's most famous poem.
     In early 1915, the death of a young friend on the battlefields of Ypres inspired Canadian soldier, field surgeon and poet John McCrae to write "In Flanders Fields." Within months of the poem's December 1915 publication in the British magazine Punch it became part of the collective consciousness in North America and Europe, and its extrao …

More Info
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Decoded

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Decoded

The Full Text of Lewis Carroll's Novel with its Many Hidden Meanings Revealed
edition:Hardcover
tagged :

This gorgeous 150th anniversary edition of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is also a revelatory work of scholarship.

     Alice's Adventures in Wonderland--published 150 years ago in 1865--is a book many of us love and feel we know well. But it turns out we have only scratched the surface. Scholar David Day has spent many years down the rabbit hole of this children's classic and has emerged with a revelatory new view of its contents. What we have here, he brilliantly and persuasively argues, is …

More Info
The Olive Oil and Vinegar Lover's Cookbook

The Olive Oil and Vinegar Lover's Cookbook

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook

Inspiring recipes for the olive oil and vinegar aficionado in a gorgeously photographed book—these are the absolute best ways to elevate the flavour of your fare using fresh flavoured olive oils and white and dark balsamic vinegars.

Have you recently become enamoured with fresh and flavoured extra-virgin olive oil, infused olive oil, and flavoured balsamic vinegars, only to take them home and wonder: what exactly do I do with them?

These are simple but gratifying recipes that use 50 of the most …

More Info
Outstanding in the Rain

Outstanding in the Rain

edition:Hardcover

Step right up! Step right up to the amusing amusement park! It's a whole story, and the pages have holes! Watch the holes make pictures! Turn an umbrella into a cake, and balloons into ice cream! See the holes make words. Whole words! Change an ice man into an nice man! See fork handles turn into four candles! Realize the magic with your real eyes! Frank Viva's tale of a boy spending his birthday at the amusement park will amaze readers big and small with astounding die-cuts that transform both …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...