Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Business, Careers, Occupations

Wednesday Wilson Connects the Dots

by (author) Bree Galbraith

illustrated by Morgan Goble

Publisher
Kids Can Press
Initial publish date
Jun 2023
Category
Business, Careers, Occupations, Chapter Books, Girls & Women
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781525303296
    Publish Date
    Jun 2023
    List Price
    $16.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
  • Reading age: 6 to 9

Description

Will an insult (and Ruby Beautiful?!) spark Wednesday Wilson's next business idea?

When Wednesday Wilson and her best friend, Charlie, get an unexpected day off from school, they plan to work on a new business idea. But their day gets upended when they find out they have to spend it with Ruby Beautiful, their former best friend who dumped them for the Emmas. Things get even stranger when Ruby comes to Charlie's defense after the Emmas make fun of his freckles. Ruby tells the Emmas that, according to her cool older brother, Raj, freckles are popular, and, in fact “People spend tons of money to get freckles tattooed on their faces.” Wait, could this be the perfect new business idea Wednesday has been searching for? And, even more important, could this mean she and Charlie have their best friend back?

Part of Bree Galbraith's critically acclaimed early chapter book series, this title brings everything readers love: a high-energy plot, loads of twists and turns and a diverse cast of unforgettable characters. What they'll also love is finally learning why Ruby Beautiful stopped being friends with Wednesday, and why she became friends with the Emmas instead. Short chapters filled with Morgan Goble's character-focused illustrations, lists and other clever images make this series perfect for emerging readers. Definitions of business-oriented vocabulary words that appear throughout the story maintain the fun theme. The story encourages ingenuity, creative thinking and problem solving. It makes a great choice for character education lessons on initiative, perseverance and teamwork.

About the authors

BREE GALBRAITH is a UBC Master of Creative Writing graduate and author of award winning titles, Once Upon a Balloon (Orca 2013), and Milo and Georgie (2017). Usha and the Stolen Sun is Bree’s third book, and several more follow in the coming years, including the Wednesday Wilson series (Kids Can Press 2020-22). She lives in the heart of Vancouver with her family, where when she’s not writing, she’s definitely outside enjoying the wonders of the west coast.

Bree Galbraith's profile page

Morgan Goble is a children's illustrator who has been drawing since she could first hold a crayon. She is a graduate of the Bachelor of Illustration program at Sheridan College. Morgan lives with her husband and their cat, Noni, in Oakville, Ontario. Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business is her first book.

Morgan Goble's profile page

Editorial Reviews

With short chapters and easy plot line, and a heroine who has wormed her way into our affections, Wednesday Wilson Connects the Dots is a good choice for beginner readers.—CM Magazine

Wednesday is funny and charming and sure to win over readers, especially fans of Ramona Quimby, Marty McGuire, and Clementine.—School Library Journal (Praise for Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business)

An absolute treasure to add to all collections.—School Library Journal, starred review

This second outing for Wednesday and company is a welcome addition to any early chapter book collection, recommended for fans of “Stella Diaz”, “Mindy Kim”, and “Zoey & Sassafras”.—School Library Journal (Praise for Wednesday Wilson Fixes All Your Problems)

This upbeat story provides readers with information and vocabulary for building a business but even greater lessons about friendship, communication, and self-worth ... high appeal for budding entrepreneurs.—Kirkus Reviews

... this volume is well designed for children transitioning to chapter books. The amusing first-person narrative will please Wednesday Wilson fans as well as readers new to this enjoyable series.—Booklist

Other titles by Bree Galbraith

Other titles by Morgan Goble

Related lists