On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770415287_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781770415287
publisher: ECW Press

The Unlocking Season

A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery

by Gail Bowen

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
women sleuths, cozy, family life, amateur sleuth
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9781770415287
publisher: ECW Press
Description

 

Arthur Ellis Award-winning author

Grand Master Award of Crime Writers of Canada (2018)

The “queen of Canadian crime fiction” (Winnipeg Free Press) returns with a new installment in the Joanne Kilbourn series that is perfect for readers of Louise Penny, Ruth Rendell, and Peter Robinson.

On a Saturday bright with harbingers of spring, Joanne Kilbourn-Shreve, her husband, Zack, and their family prepare to celebrate the season. Joanne’s life is full, and at 60, she has been given the chance to understand a part of her history that for years was shrouded in secrecy.

Living Skies is producing Sisters and Strangers, a six-part TV series about the tangled relationships between the families of Douglas Ellard, the father who raised Joanne, and Desmond Love, her biological father. Joanne is working on the script with Roy Brodnitz, a brilliant writer and friend. The project’s future seems assured, but before the script is completed, Brodnitz disappears while scouting locations in northern Saskatchewan. Hours later, he’s found — sweat-drenched, clawing at the ground, and muttering gibberish. He dies in a state of mortal terror. 

Heartsick and perplexed, Joanne resolves to learn what happened in the last hours of Roy’s life. What Joanne discovers threatens Brodnitz’s legacy, and the decision about whether or not to reveal the truth is hers to make. The Unlocking Season is another deeply satisfying and thought-provoking novel from one of Canada’s finest crime writers.

 

Contributor Notes

Gail Bowen is an author, playwright, and teacher. Among her numerous writing awards are a lifetime achievement award from the Crime Writers of Canada and the Distinguished Canadian Award from the University of Regina. Reader’s Digest has called her Canada’s best mystery novelist. In 2018, she was awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit and the Grand Master Award of Crime Writers of Canada. She lives in Regina, Saskatchewan, with her husband, Ted.

Editorial Review

 

“Bowen creates fully rounded characters to serve her well-crafted plot. This long-running series shows no sign of losing steam.” — Publishers Weekly

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...