Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Drama Canadian

The Monster Trilogy

by (author) R.M. Vaughan

Coach House Books
Initial publish date
Oct 2003
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2003
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Oct 2003
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Demons, ogres, werewolves – men have all the fun. Not here. Celebrated playwright RM Vaughan's The Monster Trilogy turns the tables and offers up three monstrously evil women in three explosive monologues.

In The Susan Smith Tapes, the infamous young mother who drowned her three sons tries to recapture the public's attention by auditioning for talk shows from her prison cell. In A Visitation by Saint Teresa of Avila upon Constable Margaret Chance, we meet a middle-aged police officer whose world view is warped by her obsession with race, bloodlines and genetic determinism. And Dead Teenagers introduces us to the Reverend, a frustrated cleric unhealthily addicted to the spectacle of large funerals for murdered children.

These monologues – all performed at Rhubarb! festivals and all critically acclaimed – create a vivid triptych that considers the notion of monstrosity from three very distinct perspectives.

'RM Vaughan writes like a sailor with a PhD and a broken heart.' – Daniel MacIvor

About the author

RM Vaughan is a Toronto-?based writer and video artist originally from New Brunswick. His books include the poetry collections A Selection of Dazzling Scarves and Invisible to Predators, the novel A Quilted Heart, the play Camera, Woman and the novel Spells (ECW). Vaughan was the 1994-?95 Playwright in Residence at Buddies in Bad Times, and he writes about art and culture for a wide range of publications.

R.M. Vaughan's profile page

Other titles by R.M. Vaughan

Related lists