On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735264472_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264472
publisher: Tundra

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt

by Riel Nason, illustrated by Byron Eggenschwiler

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264472
publisher: Tundra
Description

When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

He doesn't know why he's a quilt. His parents are both sheets, and so are all of his friends. (His great-grandmother was a lace curtain, but that doesn't really help cheer him up.) He feels sad and left out when his friends are zooming around and he can't keep up.

But one Halloween, everything changes. The little ghost who was a quilt has an experience that no other ghost could have, an experience that only happens because he's a quilt . . . and he realizes that it's OK to be different.

About the Authors

Riel Nason is the author of The Town That Drowned, which won both the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe and the 2012 Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. The novel was also a finalist for several other awards, in addition to being longlisted for the 2013 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Nason was a professional antique dealer for many years and for more than a decade wrote a column on collectibles for New Brunswick's Telegraph-Journal. As well as being a writer, she is an acclaimed textile artist. Riel lives in Quispamsis, New Brunswick, with her family.

Author profile page >

Byron Eggenschwiler is a graduate of the Alberta College of Art and Design. He is an award-winning illustrator whose many clients include the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, GQ, the National Post, O, The Oprah Magazine, the Walrus and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. He has also illustrated Coyote Tales by Thomas King. He lives in Calgary.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

RIEL NASON is a Canadian novelist and textile artist. Her acclaimed debut novel The Town That Drowned won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe, and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. Riel's original quilts have been exhibited across Canada; she is best known for her whimsical selvage quilts and bold use of color, and she has published two books on the subject: Modern Selvage Quilting and Sew a Modern Halloween. Riel grew up in Hawkshaw, New Brunswick, and now lives in Quispamsis, NB, with her husband, son, daughter and cats.

BYRON EGGENSCHWILER is an illustrator living in Calgary, Alberta. He is the illustrator of Operatic, by Kyo Maclear, Coyote Tales by Thomas King and Beastly Puzzles by Rachel Poliquin. Byron has also done illustrations for the New York Times, The New Yorker, Wall Street Journal, GQ and others. He shares a home with his wife and two soft cats.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
3 to 7
Grade:
p to 2
Editorial Review

“[A] pleasant, slightly eerie world where the ghosts’ cobwebbed haunted house and a contemporary neighborhood fit comfortably together.” --Publishers Weekly

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Riel Nason

Other Titles by Byron Eggenschwiler

Beastly Puzzles

Beastly Puzzles

A Brain-Boggling Animal Guessing Game
edition:Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...