On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780735264472_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264472
publisher: Tundra

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt

by Riel Nason, illustrated by Byron Eggenschwiler

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Sep 2020
ISBN:9780735264472
publisher: Tundra
Description

When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

He doesn't know why he's a quilt. His parents are both sheets, and so are all of his friends. (His great-grandmother was a lace curtain, but that doesn't really help cheer him up.) He feels sad and left out when his friends are zooming around and he can't keep up.

But one Halloween, everything changes. The little ghost who was a quilt has an experience that no other ghost could have, an experience that only happens because he's a quilt . . . and he realizes that it's OK to be different.

About the Authors
Riel Nason is a writer and textile artist. She is the author of three novels, one for middle-grade readers; a children’s picture book; and two books on quilting. The Town That Drowned was her debut novel. It won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. She lives in Quispamsis, New Brunswick.
Author profile page >

Byron Eggenschwiler is an illustrator whose work has been featured in the New York Times, the New Yorker, the Wall Street Journal and GQ. He lives in Calgary, Alberta.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

RIEL NASON is a Canadian novelist and textile artist. Her acclaimed debut novel The Town That Drowned won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe, and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. Riel's original quilts have been exhibited across Canada; she is best known for her whimsical selvage quilts and bold use of color, and she has published two books on the subject: Modern Selvage Quilting and Sew a Modern Halloween. Riel grew up in Hawkshaw, New Brunswick, and now lives in Quispamsis, NB, with her husband, son, daughter and cats.

BYRON EGGENSCHWILER is an illustrator living in Calgary, Alberta. He is the illustrator of Operatic, by Kyo Maclear, Coyote Tales by Thomas King and Beastly Puzzles by Rachel Poliquin. Byron has also done illustrations for the New York Times, The New Yorker, Wall Street Journal, GQ and others. He shares a home with his wife and two soft cats.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
3 to 7
Grade:
p to 2
Editorial Review

One of Canadian Children's Book News’ Best Books of 2020

PRAISE FOR The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt:

“[A] pleasant, slightly eerie world where the ghosts’ cobwebbed haunted house and a contemporary neighborhood fit comfortably together.” --Publishers Weekly
“[A] sly twist on the transformative power of Halloween.” --Quill & Quire

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt”

Other Titles by Riel Nason

The Town That Drowned

The Town That Drowned

edition:eBook
More Info

Other Titles by Byron Eggenschwiler

Beastly Puzzles

Beastly Puzzles

A Brain-Boggling Animal Guessing Game
edition:Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...