On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780062366948_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.50
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback Hardcover eBook
published: April 2015
ISBN:9780062366948
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: Balzer + Bray

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II

The Hidden Gallery

by Maryrose Wood, illustrated by Jon Klassen

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $8.50
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback Hardcover eBook
published: April 2015
ISBN:9780062366948
publisher: HarperCollins
imprint: Balzer + Bray
Description

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now. They are accustomed to wearing clothes. They hardly ever howl at the moon. And for the most part, they resist the urge to chase squirrels up trees.

Yet the Incorrigibles are not entirely civilized, and still managed to ruin Lady Constance's Christmas ball, nearly destroying the grand house. So while Ashton Place is being restored, Penelope, the Ashtons, and the children take up residence in London. As they explore the city, Penelope and the Incorrigibles discover more about themselves as clues about the children's—and Penelope's own—mysterious past crop up in the most unexpected ways....

About the Authors

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.

Author profile page >

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.

Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
8 to 12
Grade:
3 to 7
Awards
  • , IndieBound Indie Next List
Editorial Reviews

“[A] madcap sequel. Great fun, and it wouldn’t be optoomuchstic to expect more to come.”

— Kirkus Reviews

“Another series of uproarious escapades. fans of the first book will be happy to go along for the madcap ride.”

— School Library Journal

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...