Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

The Brave Never Write Poetry

by (author) Daniel Jones

Publisher
Coach House Books
Initial publish date
Sep 2011
Category
Canadian, General
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781770562868
    Publish Date
    Sep 2011
    List Price
    $10.95
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781552452455
    Publish Date
    Mar 2011
    List Price
    $17.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just 26, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelist's lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning 'poetry' on its head before its author (then known simply as 'Jones') swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Al Purdy, these confrontational poems about sex and boredom, drugs and suicide, document Jones' depressive, alcoholic years as an enfant terrible.

This long-overdue revised edition brings Jones' unforgettable voice to a new generation of readers and includes the complete text of the original collection (including Jones' own sardonic assessments of his own poetry), a new preface by poet/critic Kevin Connolly, and postscript commentary from many of Jones' closest friends and literary colleagues.

About the author

Daniel Jones was born in Hamilton, Ontario, in 1959, and lived in Toronto from 1977 until his tragic suicide in 1994. His books include a collection of poetry, The Brave Never Write Poetry (Coach House), a novel, Obsessions (Mercury), and a collection of short stories, The People One Knows (Mercury). A former contributing editor to WHAT!, Piranha, and Border/Lines, Jones also edited and, with his wife, Robyn Gillam, co-published Streetcar Editions.

Daniel Jones' profile page

Other titles by Daniel Jones