On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771120555_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $85.00
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Social Science
published: May 2014
ISBN:9781771120555

Surviving Incarceration

Inside Canadian Prisons

by Rose Ricciardelli

reviews: 0
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $85.00
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Social Science
published: May 2014
ISBN:9781771120555
Description

Is prison a humane form of punishment and an effective means of rehabilitation? Are current prison policies, such as shifting resources away from rehabilitation toward housing more offenders, improving the safety and lives of incarcerated populations?

Considering that many Canadians have served time, are currently incarcerated, or may one day be incarcerated—and will be released back into society—it is essential for the functioning and betterment of communities that we understand the realities that shape the prison experience for adult male offenders. Surviving Incarceration reveals the unnecessary and omnipresent violence in prisons, the heterogeneity of the prisoner population, and the realities that different prisoners navigate in order to survive.

Ricciardelli draws on interviews with almost sixty former federal prisoners to show how their criminal convictions, masculinity, and sexuality determined their social status in prison and, in consequence, their potential for victimization. The book outlines the modern “inmate code” that governs prisoner behaviours, the formal controls put forth by the administration, the dynamics that shape sex-offender experiences of incarceration, and the personal growth experiences of many prisoners as they cope with incarceration.

About the Author
Rose Ricciardelli is an assistant professor at Memorial University. She has published in academic journals such as , Sex Roles, and Theoretical Criminology. Her research interests include evolving conceptualizations of masculinities, vulnerabilities and risk as well as experiences of prisoners, police, and correctional officers within different facets of the criminal justice system.
Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

“Rose Ricciardelli’s study of Canadian prisoners is one of the best I’ve ever read on the subject of prisons. In the tradition of John Irwin and Donald Clemmer, she provides an excellent update on inmate culture and provides keen insights into the penal environment, which she calls ’largely homophobic’ and ’built on power relationships with aggression and violence presented as acceptable platforms to express or enact masculine dominance.’ A must-read.”

— Randall G. Shelden, professor, Criminal Justice Department, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; author or co-author of several books, including <i>Girls, Delinquency and Juvenile Justice</i> (4th ed.) with Meda Chesney-Lind. www.sheldensays.com

“We are accustomed to the perceived risks associated with prisoners being released but lack sufficient information on the risks of imprisonment and release as experienced by offenders. In a careful and well-crafted account Rose Ricciardelli has brought to the forefront the lived experiences of prisoners and in doing so challenges the data-narratives created by the criminal justice system. In centring on the ways prisoners negotiate their prison time and respond to the pressures of re-entry Dr. Ricciardelli provides us with an informative and insightful perspective on prison life in Canada.”

— Donald G. Evans, executive editor, <i>Journal of Community Corrections</i>; past president of the American Probation and Parole Association and of the International Community Corrections Association

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Rose Ricciardelli

After Prison

After Prison

Navigating Employment and Reintegration
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...