Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Anthologies (multiple Authors)

Penguin Anthology of Canadian Humour

by (author) Will Ferguson

Penguin Group Canada
Initial publish date
Mar 2007
Anthologies (multiple authors), Anecdotes, Canadian
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Mar 2006
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Mar 2007
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The Penguin Anthology of Canadian Humour brings together a diverse and entertaining collection of the best humour writing. These seventy-one distinctly Canadian selections from fifty-four extraordinary writers represent over a century’s worth of accomplishments in this unique literary genre.

Will Ferguson’s marvellous anthology features humour pieces from early twentieth-century writers such as Bob Edwards and Stephen Leacock, who defined the very essence of humour. Ferguson also includes a wide selection of writing by some of our best-known authors from throughout the twentieth century to the present: Douglas Coupland, Robertson Davies, Mavis Gallant, Thomas King, W.P. Kinsella, Stuart McLean, Paul Quarrington, and Miriam Toews, to name a few.

About the author

Travel writer and novelist Will Ferguson is the author of several award-winning memoirs, including Beyond Belfast, about a 560-mile walk across Northern Ireland in the rain; Hitching Rides with Buddha, about an end-to-end journey across Japan by thumb; and most recently the humour collection Canadian Pie, which includes his travels from Yukon to PEI.

Ferguson's novels include Happiness™, a satire set in the world of self-help publishing, and Spanish Fly, a coming-of-age tale of con men and call girls set amid the jazz clubs of the Great Depression. His work, which has been published in more than twenty languages around the world, has been nominated for both an IMPAC Dublin Award and a Commonwealth Writers' Prize, and he is a three-time winner of the Leacock Medal.


Will Ferguson's profile page

Other titles by Will Ferguson