On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770894105_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.95
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2013
ISBN:9781770894105

October 1970

A Novel

by Louis Hamelin, translated by Wayne Grady

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.95
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2013
ISBN:9781770894105
Description

Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Selected as an Amazon.ca Best Book.

October 1970. Two kidnappings. One dead. A crisis unlike anything the country had ever seen — here is the story behind history . . .

Thirty years after the October Crisis, Sam Nihilo, a freelance writer whose career is in a slump, is drawn to the conspiracy theories that have proliferated in the wake of the events. While investigating the death of one of the FLQ hostages, Nihilo sees his life consumed by an inquiry that leads him further into a flurry of facts, both known and newly discovered. Soon, secret agents, corrupt police officers, politicians, and former terrorists of the Front de Libération du Québec form a mysterious constellation around him, and at the centre lies a complicated and dangerous truth.

In the tradition of Don DeLillo’s Libra, October 1970 is a thrilling fictional account of the events that shaped one of the most volatile moments in recent history.

About the Authors

Louis Hamelin

Author profile page >

Wayne Grady

WAYNE GRADY is the author of two novels, Emancipation Day and Up from Freedom, and fourteen books of science and natural history. He is also the editor of six anthologies of short stories, including two co-edited by Matt Cohen, and one of Canada’s top literary translators. He has won the Amazon.ca First Novel Award and the Governor General’s Literary Award for Translation, among many other honours. He lives in Kingston, Ontario, with his wife, novelist Merilyn Simonds.

Author profile page >
Awards
  • Long-listed, Scotiabank Giller Prize
  • Commended, Quill & Quire Books of the Year: Review Editor's Choice
  • Commended, Amazon.ca Best Books: Editors' Picks
Editorial Reviews

This is a masterful work. Hamelin, a novelist and academic, has massaged prodigious research and historical fact into a book that had me laughing and weeping at the same time.

— Toronto Star

Hamelin has crafted a politically engaged plot that moves at the speed of a Hollywood thriller.

— Quill & Quire

...October 1970 is a masterful roman à clef about a defining moment in Quebec history.

— Montreal Gazette

It's a great ride. This novel carries on the traditions of conspiracy-theory fiction such as James Ellroy's The Cold Six Thousand, about the assassination of John F. Kennedy. But October 1970 is a lot funnier and easier to read.

— Winnipeg Free Press

As a novel that orchestrates the forces, large and small, that compete to dominate and control both personal and public lives, it’s masterful. It successfully captures the feeling of the time and place, it allows the people, the ideas and the actions to speak for themselves, it moves the reader with suspense and tragedy.

— Globe and Mail

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “October 1970”

Other Titles by Louis Hamelin

Other Titles by Wayne Grady

The Years of Fire

The Years of Fire

Charles the Bold, Volume 2
edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info
Sea, The

Sea, The

A Literary Companion
edited by Wayne Grady
edition:Hardcover
More Info
Dark Waters Dancing to a Breeze

Dark Waters Dancing to a Breeze

A Literary Companion to Rivers and Lakes
edited by Wayne Grady
edition:Hardcover
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...