Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Police Procedural

None So Blind

An Inspector Green Mystery

by (author) Barbara Fradkin

Dundurn Press
Initial publish date
Oct 2014
Police Procedural, General, Crime
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2014
    List Price
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Oct 2014
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Did Inspector Green put the wrong man behind bars?

Twenty years ago, a raw and impressionable Detective Michael Green helped convict a young professor for the murder of an attractive co-ed. From behind bars, the man continued to hound Green with letters protesting his innocence. Shortly after being paroled, he is found dead. Is it suicide? Revenge? Or had Green made the biggest mistake of his career — a mistake which cost an innocent man his liberty and ultimately his life? To determine the truth, Green is forced to re-examine old evidence and open up old wounds to stare down a far greater evil hiding in plain sight.

Nominated for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel

About the author

Barbara Fradkin was born in Montreal and attended McGill, the University of Toronto and the University of Ottawa, where she obtained her PhD in psychology. Her work as a child psychologist has provided ample inspiration and insight for plotting murders, and she recently left full-time practice in order to be able to devote more time to writing. Barbara has an affinity for the dark side, and her compelling short stories haunt several anthologies and magazines, including Storyteller, Iced (Insomniac Press, 2001), and the Ladies Killing Circle anthologies, including Fit to Die, Bone Dance and When Boomers Go Bad, published by RendezVous Press. Her detective series features the exasperating, infuriating Ottawa Inspector Michael Green, whose love of the hunt often interferes with family, friends and police protocol. The series includes Do or Die (2000), Once Upon a Time (2002), Mist Walker (2003), and Fifth Son (Fall 2004). Once Upon a Time was nominated for Best Novel at the Arthur Ellis Awards, Canada’s top crime writing awards, and her latest title, Fifth Son won this prestigious award in 2005. The fifth in the series, Honour Among Men, (2006), repeated the honour, the only time that consecutive novels by the same author have won the award. The sixth and seventh novels, Dream Chasers and This Thing of Darkness, followed in 2007 and 2009.

Barbara Fradkin's profile page


  • Short-listed, Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel
  • Commended, Dewey Divas and the Dudes Fall Picks

Editorial Reviews

[S]uspenseful and engaging . . .

Publishers Weekly

This award-winning series provides psychological insight into crime and its impact on our lives.

Halifax Chronicle-Herald

None So Blind is a thoughtful, well-written mystery that challenges readerly expectations while embracing the tropes of the genre wholeheartedly.

Quill & Quire

Some series begin to sag when they hit book 10, but Barbara Fradkin’s latest Inspector Green installment isn’t one of them. Two-time Arthur Ellis Award winner Fradkin serves up a superb plot as Green revisits an old cold case.

The Globe and Mail

The Inspector Green novels form one of the longest-running and most successful series in Canadian crime fiction, and for good reason. With each book Fradkin becomes a stronger writer, deftly exploring complex moral issues within the context of a compelling tale. A fine, layered police procedural that reveals how some people are not always what they seem, and how others change with time, None So Blind is Fradkin’s finest work to date.

The Ottawa Review of Books

. . . individual authors like Louise Penny, Peter Robinson, Barbara Fradkin, Maureen Jennings, and Gail Bowen cast big long shadows with respect to police procedurals, historical mysteries, and amateur sleuths.

Sarah Weinman

In a modern crime fiction universe in which protagonists are expected to have weaknesses as well as strengths and to portray a full range of human characteristics, Barbara Fradkin’s Inspector Michael Green has always been among the most, well, human.

London Free Press/QMI

With the 10th novel in her Inspector Green mystery series, Ottawa writer Barbara Fradkin demonstrates just why two of the earlier instalments have been awarded the Arthur Ellis from the Crime Writers of Canada. None So Blind is a thoughtful, well-written mystery that challenges readerly expectations while embracing the tropes of the genre wholeheartedly.

Quill & Quire

[P]erhaps Fradkin might eventually do for Ottawa what Rankin did for Edinburgh.

The Ottawa Citizen

Other titles by Barbara Fradkin