Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Amateur Sleuth

Blood Ties

A Cedric O'Toole Mystery

by (author) Barbara Fradkin

Publisher
Orca Book Publishers
Initial publish date
Aug 2019
Category
Amateur Sleuth, Crime, Small Town & Rural
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781459818255
    Publish Date
    Aug 2019
    List Price
    $9.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781459818279
    Publish Date
    Aug 2019
    List Price
    $7.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Country handyman Cedric O’Toole finds his life turned upside down when a stranger named Steve shows up at his farm, claiming to be his brother. Steve believes they have the same father, and he is on a quest to find him, as Cedric’s unwed mother took the secret of their father’s identity to her grave.
Together Steve and Cedric embark on a hunt for answers. At every turn, people seem to have secrets: the police officer who investigated a suspicious death years ago and who is now the chief near retirement, Cedric’s aunt Penny, who knows all the gossip in the town but claims to know nothing about the death and, most alarming of all, Cedric’s own grandparents and uncle, who insist no good will come of his questions.
What are they all hiding? And does Cedric really want to know the answers?

About the author

Barbara Fradkin was born in Montreal and attended McGill, the University of Toronto and the University of Ottawa, where she obtained her PhD in psychology. Her work as a child psychologist has provided ample inspiration and insight for plotting murders, and she recently left full-time practice in order to be able to devote more time to writing. Barbara has an affinity for the dark side, and her compelling short stories haunt several anthologies and magazines, including Storyteller, Iced (Insomniac Press, 2001), and the Ladies Killing Circle anthologies, including Fit to Die, Bone Dance and When Boomers Go Bad, published by RendezVous Press. Her detective series features the exasperating, infuriating Ottawa Inspector Michael Green, whose love of the hunt often interferes with family, friends and police protocol. The series includes Do or Die (2000), Once Upon a Time (2002), Mist Walker (2003), and Fifth Son (Fall 2004). Once Upon a Time was nominated for Best Novel at the Arthur Ellis Awards, Canada’s top crime writing awards, and her latest title, Fifth Son won this prestigious award in 2005. The fifth in the series, Honour Among Men, (2006), repeated the honour, the only time that consecutive novels by the same author have won the award. The sixth and seventh novels, Dream Chasers and This Thing of Darkness, followed in 2007 and 2009.

Barbara Fradkin's profile page

Awards

  • Short-listed, Arthur Ellis Award Best Crime Novella
  • Commended, CCBC Best Books for Kids & Teens

Editorial Reviews

“A skilled storyteller, Fradkin shares with her readers the compelling odyssey of two grown men who have never met...It is a fine read.”

Jim Napier, Deadly Diversions

“Perfect for fans of James Patterson’s BookShots series...Fradkin’s tale keeps readers engaged with just enough tantalizing details to provide intrigue and suspense.”

Booklist

“There is more than enough character development, exciting plot events and intrigue to make reluctant readers work to the end to find out what happens.”

Must Read Literature: K thru YA

Other titles by Barbara Fradkin