Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Comics & Graphic Novels Literary

July Underwater

by (artist) Zoe Maeve

Publisher
Conundrum Press
Initial publish date
Jun 2022
Category
Literary, Coming of Age, Contemporary Women
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781772620696
    Publish Date
    Jun 2022
    List Price
    $20.00

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

As dusk falls over the lake, Lina's world is beginning to dissolve.

It's a typically sticky Toronto summer and Lina's spending her first couple of weeks after graduation reading and hanging out with her best friend Cara. Everything's calm--until she finds out that her childhood friend Alicia has died.

With her high school friends quickly drifting apart and her parents out of town, Lina tries to make sense of what has happened on her own. Hoping for answers, she turns to Virginia Woolf's To The Lighthouse and Patricia Highsmith's The Price of Salt. As Lina reunites with her friends for a final party on the shores of Lake Ontario, she finds herself wondering what it means to have known someone, and who they'll all become when they're no longer anchored to each other.

Winner of the Expozine Awards, July Underwater is an early work of Tiohtià:ke (Montreal) based artist Zoe Maeve, now available to widespread audiences for the first time.

About the author

Zoe Maeve is a comics artist and illustrator originally from Tkaronto/Toronto who now lives in Tiohtià:ke/Montreal. She studied visual arts at Concordia University, where she worked in oil painting, printmaking, and textiles before finding comics. In 2021 her first book The Gift was published by Conundrum Press and she was nominated for an Ignatz Award for Promising Young Talent. Her book July Underwater, which was the recipient of Best English Comic at the 2016 Expozine awards, will be released to a widespread audience with Conundrum Press for the first time in 2022. She currently shares her home with her partner and two feisty black cats.

Zoe Maeve's profile page

Awards

  • Winner, Best English Comic at the Expozine Awards

Editorial Reviews

"This is an artistically rich book perfect for fans of Ghost World."

--Booklist

July Underwater is an exploration of nostalgia, loss, discovery, and growing up. All of us have gone through it. It doesn't hammer its points home, but rather touches on them lightly and allows us to come to our own conclusions.

--Montreal Review of Books

With allusions and call-backs to Virginia Woolf's famous To The Lighthouse, this comic pays tribute to Woolf's stream of consciousness style, with clever musings about time, its significance, and the meaning of single lived seconds vs the expanse of all eternity.--Pipedream Comics

Other titles by Zoe Maeve