Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry General

Infinite Worlds

by (author) Louis Dudek

Publisher
Vehicule Press
Initial publish date
Jan 1998
Category
General, English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780919890909
    Publish Date
    Jan 1998
    List Price
    $12.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Louis Dudek's contribution to Canadian literature has been enormous. Wynne Francis has called him Canada's first "man of letters," in the tradition of Arnold and Pound. Infinite Worlds is a major selection of Dudek's work edited by poet and teacher Robin Blaser. Selections have been drawn from fifteen books and one journal spanning forty-two years. "Dudek is Canada's most important; that is to say, consequential modern voice." Robin Blaser, from the Introduction

About the author

 

Karis Shearer is currently a doctoral candidate at The University of Western Ontario, where she is completing her dissertation on postmodern cultural workers and the Canadian long poem. She has published articles on women’s writing and the poetry of Lynn Crosbie, and has guest-edited an issue of Open Letter on new Canadian fiction writers.

Louis Dudek was one of Canada’s most important and influential cultural workers. After gaining his PhD from Columbia University, Dudek in 1951 returned from New York to Montreal, the city of his birth, to take up a position as professor of English at McGill. Dudek’s return to Canada marked the beginning of his efforts to revolutionize the Montreal poetry scene through little magazines and small-press publishing, providing alternatives to commercial presses and opportunities for talented young poets. In 1956 he started The McGill Poetry Series, which gave a start to several young poets, including Leonard Cohen. The author of numerous books of poetry, Louis Dudek died in 2001.

Frank Davey has been a poet, editor, small-magazine publisher, literary critic, and cultural critic in Canada since 1961. He is editor and co-founder of the influential poetry newsletter Tish (1961-63) and since 1965 editor of Open Letter, the Canadian journal of writing and theory. With Fred Wah in 1984, he founded SwiftCurrent, the world’s first online literary magazine, and operated it until 1990. His more than forty books include Louis Dudek and Raymond Souster (1980), The Abbotsford Guide to India (1986), Reading Canadian Reading (1988), Canadian Literary Power (1994), and Back to the War (2005).

 

Louis Dudek's profile page

Other titles by Louis Dudek