Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Dogs

Dog Driven

by (author) Terry Lynn Johnson

Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Initial publish date
Dec 2019
Category
Dogs
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781328551597
    Publish Date
    Dec 2019
    List Price
    $24.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780358447702
    Publish Date
    Mar 2021
    List Price
    $11.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12

Description

From the author ofIce Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness—a race she doesn’t know if she can even see to run. 
 
Winning would mean getting her disease—and her sister’s—national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

 A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness,Dog Drivenis the story of one girl’s self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

About the author

Terry Lynn Johnson lives in Whitefish Falls, Ontario where for ten years she owned a team of eighteen Alaskan Huskies. Visiter her website at www.terrylynnjohnson.com.

Terry Lynn Johnson's profile page

Editorial Reviews

*"A densely plotted, fast-moving, thematically rich tale set at the intersection of ability and disability."—Kirkus, STARRED review

*"Johnson’s personal experience of living in Ontario with her own team of Alaskan huskies shines through this book, which bracingly captures the excitement and trepidation of McKenna’s adventure." —Booklist, STARRED Review

"Guy and McKenna are well developed, and the action is captivating." —School Library Journal

Other titles by Terry Lynn Johnson

Related lists