Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Dislocations in Crystal

by (author) Michael Boughn

Publisher
Coach House Books
Initial publish date
Dec 2002
Category
Canadian
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781552451113
    Publish Date
    Dec 2002
    List Price
    $16.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

Adrift in history and myth, fairy tales and TV, the tedious and the marvellous, you'll find Dislocations in Crystal.

These poems move through the world opened by Prince Henry the Navigator's epoch-shifting push to open a sea route around Africa to the Spice Isles. They pick their way through the detritus of the world bequeathed by his success, looking for a land as promised, not of the given but the taken. Crossing and re-crossing untold regions disguised as a New World, these carefully crafted poems, in the tradition of Robin Blaser and Jack Spicer, scatter the seeds of the yet-to-be-thought, drawing readers onward towards a dream that lies past apocalypse.

About the author

Michael Boughn worked in the Teamsters for nearly 10 years before returning to university to earn a PhD in 1986 after studying with poets John Clarke and Robert Creeley. He is the author of ten books of poetry, including Iterations of the Diagonal, Dislocations in Crystal, 22 Skidoo / SubTractions, Cosmographia – a post-Lucretian faux micro-epic (short-listed for the Governor General’s Award for Poetry in 2011), and most recently, Great Canadian Poems for the Aged Vol. 1 Illus. Ed. (BookThug, 2012). He has also published books for young adults, including the Maple Award nominated Into the World of the Dead, a mystery novel, and a descriptive bibliography of the American poet, H.D. He recently edited (with Victor Coleman) Robert Duncan’s The H.D. Book for the University of California Press. He has also published numerous articles on film, writing, architecture and music, most recently "The War on Art and Zero Dark Thirty" in CineAction. He has taught courses at the University of Toronto since 1993, recently focusing primarily on American writing with special emphasis on the innovative writers of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Michael Boughn's profile page

Other titles by Michael Boughn