Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Drama Canadian

Dancock's Dance

by (author) Guy Vanderhaeghe

Initial publish date
Oct 2005
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2005
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Shell-shocked, judged un?t for society and haunted by the sins of war, Lieutenant John Carlyle Dancock “nds himself committed to an insane asylum where he cannot escape the con?nes of righteous authority or his own conscience, which visits him in the ghostly apparition of a soldier he once tormented. Dancock’s Dance is an emotionally haunting play in which one broken man clings breathlessly to a hope for redemption. Vanderhaeghe’s stark, vivid portrayal of internal and worldly chaos rings with hope and shimmers in the craft of his language.

About the author

Guy Vanderhaeghe
Guy Vanderhaeghe is the author of six books of fiction. His first two books were collections of short stories: Man Descending (1982), which won the Governor’s General’s Award, and the Faber Prize in the U.K., and The Trouble With Heroes (1983). The Englishman’s Boy (1996) was a long-time national bestseller and won the Governor General’s Award for Fiction, the Saskatchewan Book Award for Fiction and for Best Book of the Year, and was short-listed for The Giller Prize, and the prestigious International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the world’s largest monetary award for a single book.

Guy Vanderhaeghe's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Highly imaginative, vividly written play."
Saskatoon StarPhoenix

Other titles by Guy Vanderhaeghe