Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Biography & Autobiography Historical

Canadian Scholars Bundle

Lucille Teasdale / Robertson Davies / George Grant / Marshall McLuhan

by (author) Nicholas Maes, Judith Fitzgerald, T.F. Rigelhof & Deborah Cowley

Dundurn Press
Initial publish date
Dec 2013
Historical, Philosophers, General
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Dec 2013
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


Presenting four titles in the Quest Biography series that profiles prominent people in Canada’s history. In these books we explore Canada’s rich academic and philosophical history through the fascinating lives of some of its most influential figures. Profiled are: prescient media guru Marshall McLuhan, physician Lucille Teasdale, political philosopher George Grant, and novelist and literary theorist Robertson Davies.


  • George Grant
  • Lucille Teasdale
  • Marshall McLuhan
  • Robertson Davies

About the authors

Nicholas Maes is a high-school history teacher and also teaches classics at the University of Waterloo. His previous novels for young people are Crescent Star, Locksmith and Laughing Wolf, which was nominated for the Snow Willow Award. Maes is also the author of Robertson Davies: Magician of Words. He lives in Toronto.

Nicholas Maes' profile page

Judith Fitzgerald is the author of more than twenty collections of poetry as well as two bestselling biographies, Marshall McLuhan: Wise Guy (Dundurn, 2001) and Building a Mystery: The Story of Sarah McLachlan and Lilith Fair (Quarry, 1997). Rapturous Chronicles (Mercury, 1991) was nominated for the Governor General’s Award for Poetry; her epyllion, River (ECW, 1995), was both shortlisted for the Trillium Award and honoured with the James McMaster Poetry Prize; and her collection of ghazals and sonnets, Twenty-Six Ways Out of This World (Oberon Press, 1996), was named one of the six best poetry collections of the year published in English (Globe and Mail’s Top 100). Given Names: New and Selected Poems (Black Moss Press, 1985) was shortlisted for the Pat Lowther Award and won a Writers’ Choice Award. Fitzgerald passed away in November of 2015.

Judith Fitzgerald's profile page

T. F. Rigelhof is a contributing reviewer to the Books section at The Globe and Mail and was recently used as the intellectual pin-up for the new book section at the National Post.


His essay on religion in Canada at the end of the millennium, A Blue Boy in a Black Dress: A Memoir, won the QSPELL/Royal Bank of Canada Award for Non-Fiction in 1996 and was also nominated for the Governor General's Award. His critically acclaimed short stories of contemporary life in Montreal have been anthologized and adapted for television and are collected in Je t'aime, Cowboy.


His first novel, The Education of J.J. Pass, has been ranked as one of the best coming-of-age novels written by a Canadian. His satirical second novel, Badass on a Softail, was a finalist for the Mordecai Richler's Prix Parizeau II. Recently retired from teaching at Dawson College, Rigelhof now lives in Westmount, Quebec.

T.F. Rigelhof's profile page

Georges Vanier, who served as Governor General of Canada from 1959 to 1967, was 26 when he was one of the first men to join the newly established Royal 22nd Regiment - known as the "Van Doos." He was in his second year in the Montreal firm of Dessaules and Garneau, and very much the son of a Montreal upper-class family. His service in the First World War shaped his character, and he often described the four years spent on the battlefields of Europe as the most rewarding of his life. Vanier, described byMaclean's as "Canada's moral compass," remains one of the most respected and deeply loved figures in Canadian public life.

Deborah Cowley's profile page

Other titles by Nicholas Maes

Other titles by Judith Fitzgerald

Other titles by T.F. Rigelhof

Other titles by Deborah Cowley