On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781616207236_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781616207236
publisher: Algonquin Books

A Possibility of Whales

by Karen Rivers

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
friendship, parents, lgbt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback
published: March 2018
ISBN:9781616207236
publisher: Algonquin Books
Description

Be brave and make a big splash!
 
 
Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher has to move, again.
 
The paparazzi are stalking Nat and her movie-star father. And it’s all her ex­–best friend Solly’s fault . . . sort of. But Nat doesn’t want to think about that. Nat prefers to think of the possibilities ahead of her: the possibility that she’ll see whales on the beach near her new home, that Harry—who she just met—will be her new best friend, that she and her dad won’t have to move again again.
 
Most of all, Nat dreams of the possibility that her faraway mother misses and loves her—and is waiting for Nat to find her. Then, just as Nat is settling in to her new home, unexpected events, including a chance encounter with a whale, send her on a journey of self-discovery that will change her life—and quite possibly her father’s, Harry’s, and Solly’s too—forever.

Contributor Notes

Karen Rivers’s books have been nominated for a wide range of literary awards and have been published in multiple languages. When she’s not writing, reading, or visiting schools, she can usu­ally be found hiking in the forest that flourishes behind her tiny old house in Victoria, British Columbia, where she lives with her two kids, two dogs, and two birds. Find her online at karenrivers.com and on Twitter: @karenrivers.
 

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
8 to 12
Grade:
3 to 7
Editorial Review

“A remarkable novel . . . Nat’s witty and vulnerable voice drives the novel, from her wry observations about contemporary celebrity culture to the thoughtful collection of untranslatable words that help define her world. The chapters that center Harry’s perspective are just as strong, emphasizing his desire to be seen and understood, not as an abstract exemplar of a transgender child but as an individual. The novel avoids offering simple solutions for questions of identity and adolescence, instead reveling in life’s nuance and complexity. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and Counting by Sevens, Rivers’ latest work brings an improbable combination of elements together in an unforgettable story that is quirky and wise.”
School Library Journal
 
“Charming and sweet as it explores personal identity, life changes, love, and, of course, whales . . . Nat’s story of self-discovery is sure to inspire anyone searching for their place in the world.”
Foreword Reviews
 
“A coming-of-age story that’s both relatable and moving  . . . [Rivers] strikes the perfect tone of innocence, confusion and a touch of obstinance with Natalia, as she wades into the wild world of growing up . . . a bright, optimistic book that touches on growing up, celebrity visibility, transgender topics and more — refreshingly, and without being too weighed down with any insurmountably sombre notes.”
Vancouver Sun
 

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Karen Rivers

The Gold Diggers Club

The Gold Diggers Club

edition:Paperback
tagged :
More Info

Dream Water

edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged :
More Info
Waiting to Dive

Waiting to Dive

edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
tagged :
More Info
What Is Real

What Is Real

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...