Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Humorous

A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories

by (author) John Martz

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
May 2021
Category
Humorous, Imagination & Play, Humorous Stories
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780735270985
    Publish Date
    May 2021
    List Price
    $21.99
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781927668108
    Publish Date
    Sep 2014
    List Price
    $21.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3

Description

In this picture book anthology of four mostly wordless stories, every character is colorful and cool, and every page is an adventure! For fans of Narwhal and Jelly.

In Tim's world, cats can paint on the ceiling and a cheerful porcine couple can wait months for the bus. A duck and a mouse can fly . . . a plane, of course. In "Doug & Mouse," the first of four stories, a plucky duck and mouse pair embark on a globe-spanning journey by plane, jungle vine, horse, skis, skates, paraglider, boat and submarine, but they're sure to make it home in time for pizza and tunes. In "Tim," the titular cat lives his nine lives to the fullest -- he's a basketball star (sort of), a scientist (but not a very good one), a painter (very lifelike) and an all-terrain golfer. In "Connie," a plucky rabbit follows her line of inquiry wherever it leads. And in the final story, "Mr. and Mrs. Hamhock," an amiable pig couple wait months and months for the bus, only to realize that they've forgotten something important behind at home.

About the author

 

John Martz est un bédéiste et un illustrateur. Publié en 2016, son roman illustré A Cat Named Tim et Other Stories a été en lice pour l’obtention du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général et mis en nomination pour le Prix Eisner dans la catégorie de la meilleure publication pour les lecteurs débutants. Il habite lui aussi à Toronto, en Ontario.

 

John Martz is a cartoonist and illustrator in Toronto, Ontario. His 2016 graphic novel for children, A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories, was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Literary Award and was nominated for the Eisner Award for Best Publication for Early Readers.

 

John Martz's profile page

Other titles by John Martz