Recommended Reading List
9781553799214_cover
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

Celebrate Spring

By 49th Teachers
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
It’s almost spring! Celebrate with 10 recently released books all about nature, animals, the environment, and the joy of getting outside.
Music for Tigers

Music for Tigers

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback Paperback

From Governor General’s Literary Award finalist Michelle Kadarusman comes a novel about a young violinist who discovers her mother’s family secretly harbor a sanctuary for extinct Tasmanian tigers in the remote Australian rainforest

Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer with her mom’s eccentric Australian relatives, middle schooler and passionate violinist Louisa is prepared to be resentful. But life at the family’s remote camp in the Tasmanian rainforest is intriguing, to …

More Info
111 Trees

111 Trees

How One Village Celebrates the Birth of Every Girl
by Rina Singh
illustrated by Marianne Ferrer
edition:Hardcover

In a small village in India, a boy grows up to make a huge difference in his community by planting trees to celebrate the birth of every girl. Based on a true story, this book celebrates environmental sustainability, community activism and ecofeminism.

This is the story of Sundar Paliwal, who is from a small Indian village ruled by ancient customs. As he grows to be a man, Sundar suffers much heartbreak and decides it is time for change to come to his village. Sundar is determined to live in a pl …

More Info
Lake: A See to Learn Book

Lake: A See to Learn Book

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook

Lake: A See to Learn Book, the second book in the See to Learn series, is designed to inspire scientific curiosity, appreciation of beauty and connection to the natural world, through gentle questions and vibrant illustrations.

Lake: A See to Learn Book is the second title in a series of non-fiction picture books for very young children that uses lyrical language to encourage a sensitive perception of the natural world and a caring connection with it.

The text asks young readers to consider what …

More Info
Into The Forest

Into The Forest

edition:Hardcover

The world is rich with marvelous forests and amazing communities of plants, animals, fungi, and minute creatures that populate them. Marvel at the peaceful twilight of the deciduous forest, where birds gather twigs, bats shelter in tree trunks, and the carpet of fallen leaves becomes small creatures' homes. Spot a bald eagle soaring high up in the winter sky through the towering green giants of the redwood forest. Discover all the noises in the Amazonian rain forest, where most creatures livein …

More Info
1, 2, 3 Salish Sea

1, 2, 3 Salish Sea

A Pacific Northwest Counting Book
edition:Hardcover

From one to ten and beyond, explore the Salish Sea in this visually striking, high-concept counting primer. Acclaimed West Coast artist Nikki McClure uses a single piece of paper and an X-ACTO knife to create her simple yet exquisite images. Whether it's one stubby squid or one million raindrops, readers young and not-so-young will delight in this distinctly Pacific picture book.

More Info
The Three Brothers

The Three Brothers

edition:Hardcover
also available: eBook

From world-renowned author and illustrator Marie-Louise Gay, a story about three brothers who set off in search of wild animals in a changing climate.

This gentle adventure story about the effects of climate change ends on a hopeful note.

Finn and his younger brothers, Leo and Ooley, love reading stories about animals living in forests, on mountains or in the arctic.

“When I grow up,” says Finn, “I want to be an explorer and travel around the world. I want to see wild animals and strange bird …

More Info
Nut That Fell from the Tree, The

Nut That Fell from the Tree, The

edition:Hardcover

A playful, lively story about one acorn's difficult path to becoming a tree.

This is the house where Jill plays. This is the oak that holds the house where Jill plays. This is the nut that fell from the oak that holds the house where Jill plays ...

In the style of “The House That Jack Built,” here's a cumulative, rhyming tale that follows an acorn on an arduous journey, as one animal after another steals it, drops it or tosses it, sending the acorn inside an old shoe, high above the trees and …

More Info
The Secret Fawn

The Secret Fawn

by Kallie George
illustrated by Elly Mackay
edition:Hardcover

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can't pick the first apple of autumn because she's too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer . . . except h …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...