Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Deer, Moose & Caribou

The Secret Fawn

by (author) Kallie George

illustrated by Elly Mackay

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
Feb 2021
Category
Deer, Moose & Caribou, General, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780735265165
    Publish Date
    Feb 2021
    List Price
    $21.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2

Description

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can't pick the first apple of autumn because she's too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer . . . except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard -- is that the deer? No, it's just the neighbor's friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that's just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she's about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small . . . just like her.

The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.

About the authors

KALLIE GEORGE works as an author and editor in Vancouver, and she holds a master's in children's literature from the University of British Columbia. In addition to writing and editing, Kallie is a speaker and leads workshops for aspiring writers. She finds all eggs enchanting, even ordinary ones.

WEB: www.kalliegeorge.com

ALEXANDRA BOIGER grew up in Munich, Germany, where she studied graphic design, and then began a career in feature animation, allowing her to work for Warner Bros. UK and DreamWorks. Since transitioning to children's book illustration, she has worked on numerous popular titles, including the Tallulah series. She lives with her husband and daughter in northern California.

WEB: www.alexandraboiger.com

Kallie George's profile page

Elly MacKay creates tiny worlds from cut paper, ink and light, which she then photographs. Her work explores themes of nature, childhood and the imaginary. Elly’s work has been featured in international publications, including O: The Oprah Magazine, Chatelaine and Cosmopolitan. She grew up in a converted church in the countryside by Georgian Bay, Ontario. She now explores the same rivers, forests and beaches with her husband, Simon, and their two kids, Lily and Koen. For more information, visit www.ellymackay.com.

Elly Mackay's profile page

Awards

  • Nominated, Chocolate Lily Award

Editorial Reviews

One of CCBC’s Best Books for Kids and Teens, Fall 2021

“Sweet and pretty for bedtime or naptime — and validating to little ones all the time.” —STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews
“Cut paper adds definition; salt stippling creates the impression of apple blossoms; the whole becomes a world set apart from the ordinary. The protagonist, too, is out of the ordinary: returning home, she keeps her encounter with the fawn secret, her rich inner life bringing its own rewards.” The Horn Book Magazine
“In this quietly resplendent picture book, a younger sibling who has missed out on seeing a deer sets off alone in search of one.” —Shelf Awareness

Other titles by Kallie George

Other titles by Elly Mackay

Related lists