Recommended Reading List
2015 Fiction Preview Highlights
Download list
Please login or register to use this feature.

2015 Fiction Preview Highlights

By kerryclare
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
We have great reading to look forward to this spring! For all our anticipated listings, check out http://49thshelf.com/Blog/2015/01/12/Most-Anticipated-2015-Fiction-Spring-Preview. But here are some highlights!
Circle of Stones

Circle of Stones

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook

Nik is an eccentric art student obsessed with painting his dancer girlfriend, Jennifer. When one day she inexplicably disappears, Nik’s world is shattered. Determined to find her, he embarks on a cross-country journey following a scant trail of clues. He doesn’t anticipate how far he’ll have to travel, what he’ll do when he runs out of money, or the fact that an intimidating stranger is looking for Jennifer, too.

Nik and Jennifer fade into the background of their own tale, surfacing now a …

More Info
Harmless

Harmless

edition:Paperback

Set over the course of a single day and night, Harmless is a tense, provocative, and psychologically astute first novel in the tradition of Herman Koch's The Dinner, Tom Perrotta’s Little Children, and Christos Tsiolkas’s The Slap, about a weekend reunion of old friends that takes a terrifying turn when two teenage girls go missing.
 
At a remote farm, a group of old friends gather to catch up, sit by the fire, and forget about their overworked lives. But a long weekend in the country is n …

More Info
Knife Party at the Hotel Europa

Knife Party at the Hotel Europa

edition:eBook
also available: Hardcover

Shortlisted, Alistair MacLeod Award for Short Fiction, New Brunswick Book Award for Fiction, and Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award

One of Canada's literary treasures, Mark Anthony Jarman returns with a book of moving and often funny tales of a man's quest for himself. A.S. Byatt says that his writing is "extraordinary, his stories gripping," and in this gorgeous new collection, Jarman delivers something new once again.

In Knife Party at the Hotel Europa, Jarman writes about losing and finding …

More Info
The Outside Circle

The Outside Circle

A Graphic Novel
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook

Winner, CODE’s 2016 Burt Award for First Nation, Inuit and Métis Literature

In this important graphic novel, two brothers surrounded by poverty, drug abuse, and gang violence, try to overcome centuries of historic trauma in very different ways to bring about positive change in their lives.

Pete, a young Indigenous man wrapped up in gang violence, lives with his younger brother, Joey, and his mother who is a heroin addict. One night, Pete and his mother’s boyfriend, Dennis, get into a big fig …

More Info
Confidence

Confidence

edition:Paperback
also available: Audiobook (CD) Paperback
tagged :

In Russell Smith's darkly brilliant new collection of short stories Confidence, the reader will be introduced to ecstasy-taking PhD students; financial traders desperate for husbands; owners of failing sex stores; violent and unremovable tenants; aggressive raccoons; seedy massage parlours; experimental filmmakers who record every second of their day; wives who blog insults directed at their husbands. There are cheating husbands. There are private clubs, crowded restaurants, psychiatricwards. Ev …

More Info
Boring Girls

Boring Girls

A Novel
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback

 

A visceral story of friendship, music, and bloody revenge

Rachel feels like she doesn’t fit in — until she finds heavy metal and meets Fern, a kindred spirit. The two form their own band, but the metal scene turns out to be no different than the misogynist world they want to change. Violent encounters escalate, and the friends decide there’s only one way forward . . .

A bloodstained journey into the dark heart of the music industry, Boring Girls traces Rachel’s deadly coming of age, Fern …

More Info
Capacity for Infinite Happiness, The

Capacity for Infinite Happiness, The

edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
tagged : historical, jewish

Mathematician Emily Kogan's family is good at keeping their secrets. But when she uses her visit to the vacation lodge they own to conduct research for a graduate thesis on measuring the influence of interpersonal relationships, she learns far more than she bargained for. During her investigation at the Treasure Island Lodge - a resort that has catered to the Jewish community since the early 1930s, when their clientele would have been turned away from segregated hotels - she discovers long-burie …

More Info
A Pitying of Doves

A Pitying of Doves

A Birder Murder Mystery
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook

With murder, everyone pays a price ...

Why would a killer ignore expensive jewellery and take a pair of Turtledoves as the only bounty?

This is only one of the questions that piques Chief Inspector Domenic Jejeune’s interest when an attaché with the Mexican Consulate is found murdered alongside the director of a local bird sanctuary. The fact that the director’s death has opened up a full-time research position studying birds hasn’t eluded Jejeune, either. Could this be the escape from poli …

More Info
comments powered by Disqus

There are two ways to make a reading list

This way:

  1. Click the "Create a New List" button just above this panel.
  2. Add as many books as you wish using the built-in search on the list edit page.

Or that way:

  1. Go to any book page.
  2. In the right-hand column, click on "Add to List." A drop-down menu will appear.
  3. From the drop-down menu, either add your book to a list you have already created or create a new list.
  4. View and edit your lists anytime on your profile page.
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...