Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search


Carol Shields

Carol Shields was born in Oak Park, Illinois, in 1935 and moved to Canada, at the age of 22, after studying at the University of Exeter in England and the University of Ottawa. She was the author of over 20 books, including plays, poetry, essays, short fiction, novels, a work of criticism on Susanna Moodie, and a biography of Jane Austen. Her 1993 novel The Stone Diaries won the Governor General's Award for Fiction, the American Book Critics' Circle Award, and the Pulitzer Prize. It was also a runner up for the Booker Prize, bringing her an international following. Larry's Party (also available from BTC Audiobooks) won England's Orange Prize, given to the best book by a woman writer in the English-speaking world. Carol Shields died in July 2003 in Victoria after a long struggle with cancer.

Books by Carol Shields

The Collected Poetry of Carol Shields

by (author) Carol Shields
edited by Nora Foster Stovel
foreword by Jan Zwicky

Startle and Illuminate

Carol Shields on Writing

by (author) Carol Shields
edited by Anne Giardini & Nicholas Giardini

Le poisson orange

translated by Benoit Léger
by (author) Carol Shields

The Orange Fish

by (author) Carol Shields
read by Johnny Heller & Jo Anna Perrin

Susanna Moodie: Roughing It in the Bush

by (author) Carol Shields & Patrick Crowe
illustrated by Selena Goulding
adapted by Willow Dawson
introduction by Margaret Atwood

Le Carnaval du quotidien

by (author) Carol Shields
translated by Élise Fournier Lévêque

The Stone Diaries

by (author) Carol Shields
introduction by Penelope Lively

The Collected Stories of Carol Shields

by (author) Carol Shields


by (author) Carol Shields

Dropped Threads 2

More of What We Aren't Told

by (author) Carol Shields & Marjorie Anderson

Thirteen Hands And Other Plays

by (author) Carol Shields

Dropped Threads

What We Aren't Told

edited by Carol Shields & Marjorie Anderson


A Guide to Libraries in Manitoba

edited by Donna G. Strike
introduction by Carol Shields

Larry's Party

by (author) Carol Shields

A Celibate Season

by (author) Carol Shields


The Wife's Story

by (author) Carol Shields


by (author) Carol Shields

Various Miracles

by (author) Carol Shields

Small Ceremonies

by (author) Carol Shields

The Republic of Love

by (author) Carol Shields

Coming to Canada

by (author) Carol Shields

The Box Garden

by (author) Carol Shields

Orange Fish

by (author) Carol Shields

Life in the Clearings versus the Bush

by (author) Susanna Moodie
afterword by Carol Shields