On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443458856_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458856
publisher: HarperCollins

Worry

A Novel

by Jessica Westhead

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458856
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

A CBC BOOKS BEST FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR

A riveting novel about a mother’s all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty

Ruth is the fiercely protective mother of almost-four-year-old Fern. Together they visit a remote family cottage belonging to Stef, the woman who has been Ruth’s best friend—and Ruth's husband’s best friend—for years. Stef is everything Ruth is not—confident, loud, carefree—and someone Ruth cannot seem to escape. While Fern runs wild with Stef’s older twins and dockside drinks flow freely among the adults, they’re joined by Stef’s neighbour Marvin, a man whose frantic pursuit of fun is only matched by his side comments about his absent wife. As day moves into night and darkness settles over the woods, the edges between these friends and a stranger sharpen until a lingering suspicion becomes an undeniable threat.

Editorial Reviews

“Jessica Westhead is one of the finest prose writers in this country.”

— Zoe Whittall, bestselling author of <em>The Best Kind of People</em>

LONGLISTED FOR CBC CANADA READS 2020 A CBC BOOKS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

— No Source

Worry does a masterful job of building tension, and the reader is constantly torn between eager anticipation and dread of finding out what is happening next.”

— Ottawa Review of Books

“In Worry, Jessica Westhead deftly plumbs the anxiety that can arise from attachment. This compelling novel explores not only the tensions between dependence and freedom, but also the tricky, shifting nature of love itself.”

— Meg Wolitzer, bestselling author of <em>The Interestings</em>

“An eerie, twist-filled story. With striking precision, Westhead dissects parenting and relationships in the age of anxiety. A riveting read.”  

— Katrina Onstad, acclaimed author of <em>Everybody Has Everything</em> 

“Westhead is a concise wordsmith; Worry is a quick and engrossing read…”

— Quill & Quire

“Jessica Westhead packs a lifetime of maternal anxiety into this propulsive thriller, which unfolds over the course of 48 hours in a secluded cottage…Westhead is a master of misdirection—you’ll want to devour Worry in a single, heart-thudding night.”

— Apple Books

“In Worry, Westhead demonstrates that leaping is precisely what she knows how to do, and her novel delivers with the most assured and powerful landing.”

— Pickle Me This

“I read Worry in one sleepless, unbroken gulp. Jessica Westhead renders parenthood as a riveting high-wire act, and imbues a seemingly ordinary lakeside vacation with suspense and menace that lingers long after reading. . . An irresistible novel from its first pages to its devastating end.”

— Kim Fu, author of <em>The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore</em>

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Worry”

Other Titles by Jessica Westhead

We Are All About Wendy Now

We Are All About Wendy Now

edition:eBook
More Info
And Also Sharks

And Also Sharks

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
Pulpy and Midge

Pulpy and Midge

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...