On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781443458856_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458856
publisher: HarperCollins

Worry

A Novel

by Jessica Westhead

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
psychological
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.99
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
category: Fiction
published: Sep 2019
ISBN:9781443458856
publisher: HarperCollins
Description

A riveting novel about a mother’s all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty

Ruth is the fiercely protective mother of almost-four-year-old Fern. Together they visit a remote family cottage belonging to Stef, the woman who has been Ruth’s best friend—and Ruth's husband’s best friend—for years. Stef is everything Ruth is not—confident, loud, carefree—and someone Ruth cannot seem to escape. While Fern runs wild with Stef’s older twins and dockside drinks flow freely among the adults, they’re joined by Stef’s neighbour Marvin, a man whose frantic pursuit of fun is only matched by his side comments about his absent wife. As day moves into night and darkness settles over the woods, the edges between these friends and a stranger sharpen until a lingering suspicion becomes an undeniable threat.

About the Author

Jessica Westhead’s fiction has been shortlisted for the CBC Literary Awards, selected for the Journey Prize anthology, and nominated for a National Magazine Award. Her short stories have appeared in major literary journals in Canada, the US and the UK, including Hazlitt, Maisonneuve, Indiana Review and Hamish Hamilton’s Five Dials. She is the author of the novel Pulpy and Midge and the critically acclaimed short story collections Things Not to Do and And Also Sharks, which was a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book, a Kobo’s Best eBook of the Year and a finalist for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award. Westhead is a creative writing instructor at the Chang School of Continuing Education at Ryerson University.

Author profile page >
Editorial Reviews

“I read Worry in one sleepless, unbroken gulp. Jessica Westhead renders parenthood as a riveting high-wire act, and imbues a seemingly ordinary lakeside vacation with suspense and menace that lingers long after reading. . . An irresistible novel from its first pages to its devastating end.”

— Kim Fu, author of <em>The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore</em>

“In Worry, Jessica Westhead deftly plumbs the anxiety that can arise from attachment. This compelling novel explores not only the tensions between dependence and freedom, but also the tricky, shifting nature of love itself.”

— Meg Wolitzer, bestselling author of <em>The Interestings</em>

“Jessica Westhead is one of the finest prose writers in this country.”

— Zoe Whittall, bestselling author of <em>The Best Kind of People</em>

“An eerie, twist-filled story. With striking precision, Westhead dissects parenting and relationships in the age of anxiety. A riveting read.”  

— Katrina Onstad, acclaimed author of <em>Everybody Has Everything</em> 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Worry”

Other Titles by Jessica Westhead

We Are All About Wendy Now

We Are All About Wendy Now

edition:eBook
More Info
And Also Sharks

And Also Sharks

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
Pulpy and Midge

Pulpy and Midge

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...