Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Contemporary Women

Two for the Road

A Novel

by (author) Chantel Guertin

Publisher
Doubleday Canada
Initial publish date
Mar 2023
Category
Contemporary Women, Romantic Comedy, Contemporary
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780385696913
    Publish Date
    Mar 2023
    List Price
    $23.00

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

For readers of Emily Henry, Gail Honeyman and Josie Silver, a tender, funny and wise new novel about a romance bookshop owner who embarks on the adventure--or misadventure--of a lifetime in search of her own happily ever after.

Sometimes there are detours on the road to love . . .
Gigi Rutherford loves love stories. She reads them, she sells them at her romance bookstore, and she could spend hours imagining the meet-cutes of every couple she encounters. But beyond her shop’s walls, Gigi is out of stock when it comes to her own love interests. And instead of enduring bad date after bad date, these days she’d rather curl up at home with her favourite audiobook and the only man that makes her heart skip a beat: Zane Wilkenson, the smooth-voiced narrator that Gigi is convinced is her soulmate.

Then, she’s presented with the chance of a lifetime: a ten-day bus tour through the hills of the English countryside, taking in the sights and sounds of a world an ocean away from her bookstore—all in the presence of Zane, the man of her dreams, in person, as he leads the tour.

But things don’t go as planned. When Gigi arrives at the bus terminal in London, Zane is nowhere to be found. Until he shows up, she’s stuck with an eclectic group of fellow travellers she’d rather not be with on a long road trip: the recently widowed and chatty Charlotte; odd Francis, a walking Trivial Pursuit; Jenny, a true-crime-makeup YouTuber documenting every detail for her subscribers; and Sindhi and Roshi, a long-married couple that just can’t stop bickering. And then there’s the brooding bus driver, Taj, who Gigi finds infuriating but also incredibly alluring . . .

With heart and charm, warmth and humour, Chantel Guertin explores the meaning of love and family—and how, sometimes, the journey to yourself is where you’ll find everything you’ve been searching for.

About the author

Contributor Notes

CHANTEL GUERTIN is a Toronto‑based author, beauty expert and television personality, well-known to audiences of Canada's number‑one daytime talk show, The Marilyn Denis Show, and a frequent guest of morning news shows. Previously, she worked as a beauty editor at fashion magazines. Find her at @chantelguertin and www.chantelguertin.com, where she shares her favourite books and beauty products.

Editorial Reviews

"[A] charming contemporary romance." Library Journal

"In Two for the Road by Chantel Guertin, one woman's misguided quest for love takes us on an adventure through the English countryside. With delightful characters and gorgeous scenery, it's a sweet romance you’ll want to cozy up with. Completely charming!Carley Fortune, New York Times bestselling author of Every Summer After

"Two for the Road is a vacation in book form—and I loved every minute of it. From a charming and relatable protagonist to a quirky supporting cast—plus two male leads to swoon over—this is a story to fall for from one of my favorite writers." —Marissa Stapley, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky

"Two for the Road is the rom-com read I needed, with just enough tingly love goosebumps to make me want to plan my next trip to England. This is a beautifully written story exploring love and a life filled with taking chances." —Sonya Singh, bestselling author of Sari, Not Sari

"Two for the Road by Chantel Guertin is for the hopeless romantics in all of us. Endearing, uplifting, and with a vivid cast, it serves as a beautiful reminder to embrace the unexpected. I didn't want this ride to end!" —Amy Lea, author of Set On You

"Curl up with the heartfelt and funny Two for the Road and prepare to be charmed by its unforgettable cast of characters. Chantel Guertin's utterly delightful love story will make you want to book the next flight to London!" —Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, authors of How to Save a Life

Other titles by Chantel Guertin