On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781770412408_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9781770412408
publisher: ECW Press

Thirst for Justice

A Novel

by David R. Boyd

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
legal, non-classifiable, political, medical
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $22.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2020
ISBN:9781770412408
publisher: ECW Press
Description

 

“Fast and fierce” – Kirkus Reviews

For readers of John Grisham and William Deverell comes a political thriller ripped from today’s headlines. Lawyer and environmental activist David R. Boyd writes a riveting thriller about the psychological toll of a humanitarian crisis. Filled with tension and courtroom drama, Thirst for Justice will have you questioning what you believe about right versus wrong.

Michael MacDougall is a talented trauma surgeon whose life in Seattle is slowly unraveling. Frustrated as an ER doctor and with his marriage in trouble, he volunteers with a medical aid charity in the Congo. Disconsolate at the lives he cannot save in the desperate conditions of the region, he is shattered by a roadside confrontation with the mercenary Mai Mai that results in unthinkable losses.

Back home in Seattle, he is haunted by his experiences in Africa and what he sees as society’s failure to provide humanitarian aid to those who most desperately need it. Locked in a downward spiral, he becomes obsessed with making his government listen to him and dreams up an act of terrorism to shock his nation awake.

Activist and lawyer David Boyd’s debut novel is a taut political thriller that begs the question: how far is too far when you’re seeking justice?

 

Contributor Notes

David R. Boyd is currently the UN’s Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment and an associate professor of law, policy, and sustainability at the Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. He is the award-winning author of eight books, including The Optimistic Environmentalist and The Rights of Nature. He lives on Pender Island, B.C.

Editorial Review

 

“Fast and fierce, fueled by a knowledge of the legal system that’s equally energizing and disheartening.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Part thriller, part political commentary, and part courtroom drama, this novel will stick with the reader long after the final page.” — Publishers Weekly

“A fast-moving and well-researched political thriller, Thirst for Justice tracks the tidal wave of consequences as one man’s desperate ploy to save the world turns into a struggle to save himself.” — Patrick Tarr, writer/executive producer of the CTV drama, Cardinal

 

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by David R. Boyd

The Optimistic Environmentalist

The Optimistic Environmentalist

Progressing Toward a Greener Future
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
More Info
Northern Wild

Northern Wild

Best Contemporary Canadian Nature Writing
edition:Paperback
tagged : reference, essays
More Info
Dodging the Toxic Bullet

Dodging the Toxic Bullet

How to Protect Yourself from Everyday Environmental Health Hazards
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info
David Suzuki's Green Guide

David Suzuki's Green Guide

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...