Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Nonfiction Wolves & Coyotes

The Unlikely Hero

The Story of Wolf 8 (A Young Readers' Edition)

by (author) Rick McIntyre & David A. Poulsen

Publisher
Greystone Books Ltd
Initial publish date
Apr 2024
Category
Wolves & Coyotes, Environmental Conservation & Protection, Zoology
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781778400223
    Publish Date
    Apr 2024
    List Price
    $24.95

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7

Description

The Young Readers’ Edition of Rick McIntyre’s The Rise of Wolf 8

Book 1 in the Chronicles of the Yellowstone Wolves series

As seen on NPR’s THIS AMERICAN LIFE

For readers of Pax and A Wolf Called Wander comes the gripping true story of one of Yellowstone’s most famous wolves. In this easy to follow book, renowned wolf researcher Rick McIntyre and award-winning author David A. Poulsen join forces to tell the remarkable tale of Wolf 8 for kids!

Newly reintroduced along with his pack to Yellowstone National Park, Wolf 8 struggles at first. Small and often bullied by his siblings, he must learn to fend for himself in his new home. Soon enough, though, little 8 grows into one of Yellowstone’s greatest leaders.

Based on McIntyre’s own sightings of Wolf 8 and told in a thrilling style, The Unlikely Hero is an unforgettable adventure—and a rare glimpse into the fascinating world of wolves.

The Chronicles of the Yellowstone Wolves Book Series!

Renowned wolf expert Rick McIntyre and award-winning author David A. Poulsen join forces to bring the stories of Yellowstone's most famous wolves to young readers. Based on McIntyre's award-winning, bestselling books for adult readers, and containing a wealth of scientifically sound information on wolf behavior, this series is written in an engaging style that brings the drama and intrigue of the wolves' world to life.

About the authors

Rick McIntyre has spent more than forty-four years watching wolves in America’s national parks, twenty-eight of those years in Yellowstone, and has written several books about the wolves for adult readers. To learn more visit rickmcintyrebooks.com.

Rick McIntyre's profile page

David A. Poulsen has been a broadcaster, teacher, professional cowboy, football coach, stage and film actor and—most of all—writer. His writing career began in earnest when his story The Welcomin’ won the 1984 Alberta Culture Short Story Competition. Now the author of 27 books, many for middle readers and young adults, David spends 60 to 80 days a year in classrooms and libraries across Canada (and beyond) as a visiting author/presenter. The UBC Creative Writing alumnus and former Writer in Residence at the Saskatoon Public Library recently made his inaugural foray into the world of adult crime fiction with Serpents Rising, the best-selling first book in the Cullen and Cobb Mystery series. There are now four titles in the series and the fourth—None So Deadly—hit bookstores in the spring of 2019. The Man Called Teacher, coming in 2019, is his first adult western. David lives on a small ranch in Alberta’s foothills where he and his wife Barb raise and train running-bred quarter horses for barrel racing competitions.

David A. Poulsen's profile page

Other titles by Rick McIntyre

Other titles by David A. Poulsen