Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Books & Libraries

The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library

by (author) Linda Bailey

illustrated by Victoria Jamieson

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
Jun 2018
Category
Books & Libraries, Insects, Spiders, etc., General
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781101918326
    Publish Date
    Jun 2017
    List Price
    $19.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780735263208
    Publish Date
    Jun 2018
    List Price
    $12.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels

  • Age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5

Description

Eddie, a passionate reader and a shiny green bug, saves the school library in this funny, heartwarming tale that fans of Flora & Ulysses and Charlotte's Web will love.

     Eddie is a tiny green bug who loves to read and who lives behind the chalkboard in Mr. Wang's fourth-grade classroom with his parents, his 53 brothers and sisters, and his Aunt Min. But when Aunt Min goes to the school library and never returns, Eddie leaves the comfort of his home for the first time and begins the dangerous trek through the elementary school. After dodging sneakers, falling books and terrifying spiders, Eddie reaches the library, where he finds Aunt Min stuck on a desk with two broken legs! To top it all off, there's a substitute librarian who has terrible plans to close the library and turn it into a local testing center. No more books at all! Encouraged by the brave deeds done by small creatures like Stuart Little and Charlotte from Charlotte's Web, Eddie comes up with a plan to save the library--a plan that requires all the courage one little bug can muster. Perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and Lynne Rae Perkins' Nuts to You. Featuring extensive black and white art from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times bestseller Victoria Jamieson as well as references to classic children's literature sprinkled throughout.

About the authors

Linda Bailey a jonglé longtemps avec l'idée d'écrire, mais ce n'est qu'après avoir eu ses deux filles qu'elle a lancé sa carrière d'auteure. Elle a écrit des albums, des romans et aussi des livres informatifs. Linda a beaucoup voyagé dans sa vie et ses livres aussi! Certains sont publiés en Chine, en Corée, en Australie, en Grèce, en Pologne et dans de nombreux autres pays.

 

Linda Bailey has written more than twenty books for children in a number of different genres, including the best-selling Stanley-the-dog series, Toads on Toast, and most recently, If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur (Si jamais tu avais un dinosaure...). Linda has garnered a long list of honours in Canada such as the Ontario Blue Spruce Award, the Atlantic Provinces Hackmatack Award and the Arthur Ellis Award. She lives in Vancouver, BC.

Linda Bailey's profile page

Victoria Jamieson's profile page

Editorial Reviews

Huffington Post Canada Selection: "Great Books for Kids in Summer 2017"
A Horn Book Herald Selection: "Back-to-School Recommended Reading"

"The premise is fantastic." --Huffington Post Canada
"Eddie’s inventiveness and Linda Bailey’s stylistic verve make for a funny, adventurous tale." --Toronto Star

"Rich with references to familiar tales and accompanied by realistic illustrations by Newbery honoree Jamieson, this effort will charm library lovers and would make a fine read-aloud, as brave, endearing Eddie navigates one terrible peril after another. An excellent, engaging tale for a broad range of ages." --Kirkus Reviews
"Personality-rich illustrations perfectly match the lighthearted tone." --The Horn Book Herald

"4/4…  A marvelous, inspiring, imaginative, and ultimately redeeming story… it will certainly spark nascent yearnings for social and educational justice… Destined to be beloved by kids, parents, educators—and of course librarians... sure to be an instant classic. Highly Recommended." --CM Magazine

PRAISE FOR Seven Dead Pirates:
"This rollicking tale moves apace with a vivid setting, surprising depth, great humor, and memorable characters. Readers will root for Lewis as he finds his sea legs and the courage to make friends, both spectral and human. VERDICT Ahoy, ye maties: don't miss this treasure of a middle grade yarn." --Starred Review, School Library Journal

"Bailey endows Lewis with several scene-stealing allies (notably a fierce kindergartener) and leaves him confidently steering a course toward calm waters. Piratical fun well-stocked with colorful cast members living and arrghh." --Starred Review, Kirkus

Other titles by Linda Bailey

Other titles by Victoria Jamieson

Related lists