On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $38.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Social Science
published: Jan 2019
ISBN:9781640091191
publisher: Counterpoint

The Time Has Come

Why Men Must Join the Gender Equality Revolution

by Michael Kaufman

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
feminism & feminist theory
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $38.95
edition:Hardcover
also available: Paperback eBook
category: Social Science
published: Jan 2019
ISBN:9781640091191
publisher: Counterpoint
Description

"Through personal stories, insights gleaned from decades of working to end gender-based violence, and practical advice for those men ready to step up to the plate, Kaufman has produced a special book. It will be an important guide to the many men now seeking ways to stop violence against women, to create a more nurturing and loving culture for all." —Judy Norsigian, co-creator, Our Bodies Ourselves

 

In the vein of Tim Wise’sWhite Like Me and Sheryl Sandberg’sLean In, The Time Has Come offers a plainspoken and forthright look at why and how men need to actively fight for gender equality. As the cofounder of the White Ribbon Campaign—the largest international coalition of men seeking to end violence against women—and recently named to Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s G7 Gender Equality Advisory Council, Michael Kaufman is a global advocate for gender equality.

Kaufman’s new book explores how a culture based in toxic masculinity hurts people (and their children), how men can become better allies in smashing the patriarchy, and how real gender equality creates advancements in both the workplace and the global economy.

Contributor Notes

MICHAEL KAUFMAN, PhD has spent almost four decades engaging men to support gender equality in efforts to transform the lives of both women and men. He’s the cofounder of the White Ribbon Campaign, the largest international effort of men working to end violence against women. As an advisor and speaker, he has worked across America and in fifty countries with the United Nations, governments, NGOs, and businesses. He grew up in Ohio and North Carolina and lives in Toronto, Canada. He is a senior fellow withPromundo, based in Washington D.C. Kaufman is the author or editor of eight books, includingTheorizing Masculinities, Cracking the Armour: Power, Pain and the Lives of Men.

Editorial Review

Praise forThe Time Has Come

 

"Through personal stories, insights gleaned from decades of working to end gender-based violence, and practical advice for those men ready to step up to the plate, Kaufman has produced a special book. It will be an important guide to the many men now seeking ways to stop violence against women, to create a more nurturing and loving culture for all. Now especially, a major 'men's movement' is needed to counter the kind of male leadership that seems to encourage the very violence that continuesto endanger our lives and well-being." —Judy Norsigian, co-creator, Our Bodies Ourselves

"[C]ritically important for our time and required reading for us all. I had a hard time putting it down – it's a great book." —Rosanna Arquette, Emmy-nominated actor

"An inspiring book loaded with wisdom and pragmatism. I strongly recommend this awesome book. COUNT ME IN!" —Ziauddin Yousafzai, Father of Nobel Prize winner Malala Yousafzai, Co-founder of the Malala Fund, United Nations Special Adviser on Global Education

"With a combination of compelling stories and facts, Michael Kaufman offers a timely and important case for engaging men in the ongoing fight for gender equality." —Deborah Gillis, President and CEO, Catalyst

"For too long the struggle for the rights of women and girls was seen as women's business. Of course it's equally men's business and stops being such a struggle when it's seen that way. This reframing gives us a chance to understand violence against women as deeply toxic for us all." —Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women

"Being a male feminist isn't an option. It's a requirement, a duty, and a calling. This is not a book about history. This is a book about the future, and a guide on how to get there. We all owe a debt of gratitude to Michael, not just for being the messenger, but for spending his life living the message." —Andy Dunn, Co-founder and CEO of Bonobos men's clothing stores

"[W]orld-changing and life-changing for women and for the men who make a stand." —Gary Barker, Founder and CEO of Promundo, Washington D.C. and member of the UN Secretary-General's Network of Men Leaders

 

“Kaufman provides a compelling case for men’s stake in joining the fight for gender equity and for the benefits that we stand to gain in doing so. With humor, heart, and research he provides a relatable blueprint for men who want to embark on this important journey.” —Matt McGorry, actor (Orange is the New Black, How to Get Away with Murder) and activist

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...