On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781459735774_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: May 2017
ISBN:9781459735774
publisher: Dundurn

The Slip

by Mark Sampson

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
humorous, literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: May 2017
ISBN:9781459735774
publisher: Dundurn
Description

In this wickedly funny novel, one bad afternoon and two regrettable comments make the inimitable Philip Sharpe go viral for all the worst reasons.

Dr. Philip Sharpe, absent-minded professor extraordinaire, teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto and is one of Canada’s most combative public intellectuals. But when a live TV debate with his fiercest rival goes horribly off the rails, an oblivious Philip says some things to her that he really shouldn’t have.

As a clip of Philip’s “slip” goes viral, it soon reveals all the cracks and fissures in his marriage with his young, stay-at-home wife, Grace. And while the two of them try to get on the same side of the situation, things quickly spiral out of control.

Can Philip make amends and save his marriage? Is there any hope of salvaging his reputation? To do so, he’ll need to take a hard look at his on-air comments, and to conscript a band of misfits in a scheme to set things right.

About the Author

Mark Sampson is the author of the novels Off Book, Sad Peninsula, and The Slip, as well as a short-story collection, The Secrets men Keep, and a poetry collection, Weathervane. He has published fiction and poetry in literary journals across Canada. Mark lives in Toronto.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Mark Sampson is the author of the novels Off Book and Sad Peninsula, as well as a short-story collection, The Secrets Men Keep, and a poetry collection, Weathervane. He has published fiction and poetry in literary journals across Canada. Mark lives in Toronto.

Awards
  • Commended, A Dewey Divas and Dudes Summer 2017 pick
  • Commended, Loan Stars Top Pick
Editorial Reviews

A topical premise, one that … Sampson pushes into some unexpected, and unexpectedly comic territory.

— Quill and Quire

Entertainingly satiric ... The Slip offers comedy with bite. It also reserves ample space for heart.

— Toronto Star

Riotous but astute.

— Publishers Weekly

The Slip is a fresh, funny, and thought-provoking book. In the tradition of Amis, Richler, and Wodehouse, Mark Sampson satirizes everything from contemporary gender, marriage, and parenting issues, to academe, politics, mass and social media. It all adds up to an entertaining and "penetrating" read.

— Richard Scarsbrook, author of Rockets Versus Gravity and The Indifference League

A worthy read ... compelling, human, relatable.

— Booklist

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

Other Titles by Mark Sampson

Secrets Men Keep, The

Secrets Men Keep, The

edition:Paperback
More Info
The Secrets Men Keep

The Secrets Men Keep

edition:eBook
More Info
Sad Peninsula

Sad Peninsula

edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged : sagas, literary
More Info

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...