Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Apocalyptic & Post-apocalyptic

The Annual Migration of Clouds

by (author) Premee Mohamed

Publisher
ECW Press
Initial publish date
Sep 2021
Category
Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Adventure
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781770415935
    Publish Date
    Sep 2021
    List Price
    $19.95
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781773057088
    Publish Date
    Sep 2021
    List Price
    $13.99
  • Downloadable audio file

    ISBN
    9781773058115
    Publish Date
    Nov 2021
    List Price
    $28.99

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

 

“This packs a punch.” — Publishers Weekly

“One of the most unique and engaging voices in genre fiction.” — Booklist

“In this rich and nuanced universe, Mohamed offers an emotionally fierce and human story that takes the time and space to personalize apocalypse.” — STARRED review, Quill & Quire

A novella set in post–climate disaster Alberta; a woman infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community

The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away — to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society — but she can’t bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she’s offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can’t even trust her own mind?

With keen insight and biting prose, Premee Mohamed delivers a deeply personal tale in this post-apocalyptic hopepunk novella that reflects on the meaning of community and asks what we owe to those who have lifted us up.

 

About the author

Premee Mohamed is an Indo-Caribbean scientist and speculative fiction author based in Edmonton, Alberta. She is the author of novels Beneath the Rising (2020) and A Broken Darkness (2021), and novellas These Lifeless Things (2021), And What Can We Offer You Tonight (2021), and The Annual Migration of Clouds (2021). She is also an Associate Editor and Social Media Manager for the sci-fi podcast Escape Pod. Her short fiction has appeared in a variety of venues and she can be found on Twitter at @premeesaurus and on her website at www.premeemohamed.com.

 

 

Premee Mohamed's profile page

Awards

  • Short-listed, Aurora Awards
  • Nominated, Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards
  • Short-listed, Writers’ Guild of Alberta Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
  • Short-listed, Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize

Excerpt: The Annual Migration of Clouds (by (author) Premee Mohamed)

 

Cad doesn’t move sideways. It appears spontaneously: and then, implacably, silently, it moves down through genes and time like water seeking its lowest level. A heritable symbiont, they used to call it; once and only once, I cried out to Henryk, But it’s not, it’s a fucking parasite, and the pain that shot through me was impossible to describe. Perhaps if I had been hit by lightning I would have had the words. Sight gone, sound gone, a roaring whiteness, transfixed throat to heels as if on a pole of molten metal hurled by a god. I never said it again.

This thing is of me, does not belong to me. Is its own thing. Speaks its own tongue. A semi-sapient fungus scribbling across my skin and the skin of my ancestors in crayon colours, turquoise, viridian, cerulean, pine. I imagine it listening now, keenly, sipping my happiness. Hatred twists my face for a moment before I can force it back down.

“Are you okay?” Henryk says, as if we had not both said aloud that the worst punishment for a child molester should be the transmission of my own disease. “Is it … do you think it’s …”

“Getting worse? I don’t think so.”

“But you would know.”

“Yeah. It makes sure you know.” I don’t want to think about it anymore. Quick, change the subject. Easy enough, given the morning’s coup. “Look at what I got.”

“Holy shit. Holy shit. Is that — it can’t!

His shock is gratifying. I didn’t think I’d get to tell him first, but I wanted to tell someone. I’m glad it was him, I realize. Everything he feels just pours from him like sunshine from an open window, he cannot help it, he has no shadows in him.

“How is this even possible?!” He throws an arm awkwardly around my shoulder, startling me nearly off the step. “Reid! Oh my God. You got in! Look at you! You got in! Do you know what the odds are against that? Do you know —”

“Actually, they put it in the letter. See.” I unfold the crackling thing, Dear Ms. Reid Graham, We have received your application to Howse University and are extremely pleased to confirm your acceptance, and hand it to him. His fingers are black with dirt, but the paper seems to disregard it; nothing transfers.

 

Editorial Reviews

 

“In gorgeous prose, Mohamed (Beneath the Rising) conjures a post–climate apocalypse future … Mohamed grounds her complex, chilling vision of the future in accessible human drama, keeping a tight focus on Reid’s difficult decision and the tension it creates in her relationships. It’s an impressive feat of worldbuilding made stronger by the sensitive, nuanced characters and urgent questions about what people owe to each other. This packs a punch.” — Publishers Weekly

“One of the most unique and engaging voices in genre fiction … Science-fiction and horror readers alike will enjoy Mohamed’s novel, which will appeal to fans of Jeff VanderMeer, Kameron Hurley, and Tochi Onyebuchi.” — Booklist

“Through Mohamed’s breathtaking prose, this post-apocalyptic story unravels meditations on community building, adaptation, and collective survival … In this rich and nuanced universe, Mohamed offers an emotionally fierce and human story that takes the time and space to personalize apocalypse.” — Quill & Quire, starred review

“Premee Mohamed’s graceful storytelling transports us to a future that is both brilliantly imagined and utterly believable. I devoured this gorgeous gift of a novella, and it will stay with me.” — Kate Heartfield, award-winning author of Armed in Her Fashion and Alice Payne Arrives

“A dark, strange tale of the future that elegantly balances existential horror against necessary hope. Premee Mohamed is astonishingly good, and if we’re lucky, will be writing books for us for a good long time.” — Chuck Wendig, New York Times–bestselling author

 

Other titles by Premee Mohamed

Related lists