On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781554811373_cover Enlarge Cover
3 of 5
3 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: April 2013
ISBN:9781554811373
publisher: Freehand Books

Roost

by Ali Bryan

reviews: 3
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
family life, literary, humorous
3 of 5
3 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $21.95
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: April 2013
ISBN:9781554811373
publisher: Freehand Books
Description

Claudia, single mother of two young children, pines for her past independent life. Her ex, after all, has moved on to a new wardrobe, a new penchant for lattes--new adult friends. But in Claudia's house she's still finding bananas in the sock drawer, cigarettes taped to wrestling figures, and doodles on her MasterCard bills. Then Claudia receives the unexpected news that her mother has died.

As Claudia attempts to gain control of her life, she realizes that her fellow family members also struggle with uncertainty. Her brother's family appears picture perfect--the children always clean, the puzzles never missing pieces--but he and his wife hunger for a break from parenthood. Her father has joined a curling team and seems to be active in the community. Yet he orders product after as-seen-on-tv product for his own empty nest.

Shared through the hilarious, honest, and often poignant perspective of a single mother, Roost is the story of a woman learning about motherhood while grieving the loss of her own mother. And as she begins to mend, she's also learning that she might be able to accept her home--as it is.

About the Author

Ali Bryan is a personal trainer who grew up in Halifax and Sackville, New Brunswick. She is a graduate of St. Mary's University and completed a graduate certificate from the Humber School for Writers under the tutelage of Paul Quarrington. She was a finalist in the 2010 CBC Canada Writes literary contest for her essay "Asshole Homemaker" and a bronze medalist in the 2012 Canada Writes Literary Triathlon. Ali lives in Calgary with her husband and three children. Her real name is Alexandra. Roost is her first novel.

Author profile page >
Awards
  • Winner, Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
  • Short-listed, Alberta Trade Fiction Book of the Year
Editorial Review

"Roost is hilarious."--National Post

"Ali Bryan works in that magical space between hilarity and humiliation. Roost is about the family tragedies we all face, with courage and cowardice and warmth and malice. This novel is marvellous, terrible fun."--Todd Babiak, author of The Garneau Block and Toby: A Man

"Does every family need a daughter to do the emotional heavy-lifting? Irreverent and dead-on about the absurdities of motherhood and family, Claudia seems an unlikely fit for the role and fights it every messy inch of the way. Ali Bryan writes the tenderness and pathos of family life with the wise-cracking finesse of a stand-up comedienne. Roost is laugh-out-loud funny--a refreshing Canlit debut."--Betty Jane Hegerat, author of The Boy and Delivery

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.
Librarian review

Roost

Claudia lives in a house where every puzzle box is missing a piece, all the towels are frayed and the wallpaper border is curling at the edges. Her kids, Wesley and Joan, mash banana into everything and wear mismatched socks. Claudia has a complicated relationship with her kids’ father; you can’t really be divorced to someone you never married in the first place, but the air is filled with awkwardness when he visits anyway. Her life is messy.

Claudia’s organized and responsible brother Dan surprises their mother with an impromptu birthday trip to Cuba, the kind of trip she’s always dreamed of. Dan beams with pride, their parents are overjoyed, and Claudia shrinks into the shadows. But when their mother dies suddenly on the trip and their dad falls to pieces, it’s Claudia who welcomes her broken father into her messy life and figures out a way to help him move through the grief.

A surprising, tender, and wry look at family life, Roost will appeal to readers of Miriam Toews and Jessica Grant.

This review also appears on my blog at www.theteatimereader.wordpress.com

Minutia of parenthood made funny

A funny thing happened while I was reading Roost. I was on a flight from Nova Scotia, author Ali Bryan’s home province and the setting of Roost, on my way home to Alberta, where Bryan now lives. I was nursing Henry while Ben played on his iPad. Ben’s legs don’t reach the floor, so he braced himself on the seat in front of him to adjust his position. The woman in front of Ben turned around and said, “If your son kicks my seat again, I am going to come back there and pour a glass of water over his head.” I said, “He’s three. I’m doing my best.” She told me to “do better” and turned around, huffing and puffing. This woman threatened my three year old son and called me a bad parent. As shame burned just below the skin on my reddening face, I thought, “this is exactly the type of thing that would happen to Claudia. Except she wouldn’t give a flying fuck.”

Claudia is our heroine, a woman smack in the middle of various family dramas, with barely enough time or energy to register it all, let alone deal with the fall out. She’s got two young kids, a prissy brother and sister-in-law, eccentric parents, and an ex who’s moving on with his life entirely too quickly A crisis occurs when her mother dies, and everyone around her starts to unravel. Her family seems to think, Claudia is already heaped on with responsibility, so, why not add more? Why not have her deal with funeral arrangements, and take care of her nieces and nephews while sister-in-law is treated for postpartum depression? Why not leave her holding the (garbage) bag when her father’s hoarding comes to light? I think about Claudia when I’m feeling busy or stressed or hard done by. I’ve got it easy.

This all sounds a little heavy, but the book is hilarious. I love Bryan’s deadpan style. Claudia says, of her two-and-a-half year old daughter,



…when you first held her in the hospital and she weighed five pounds and she gazed in your eyes and you fell in love, did you ever imagine that you would one day think she was an asshole?

Anyone who’s had a two-and-a-half year old gets this.

I loved how present the children are. I often find that children are seen and not heard in literature, but anyone who’s had children knows that they are everywhere – their voices, their messes, their routines and habits that must be observed. Roost is not about the children, really, but they are always in the picture.

I found some of the characters and story lines strained credibility. Claudia’s brother in law is so terrible, he becomes a little hard to believe. And I don’t understand how her father hides a hoarding habit for five months when both his children live in the same city. Maybe it’s just that Claudia is so strongly written. She also has a story line that’s a little out there, involving an airline luggage mix up, a suitcase full of maternity clothes, a fake pregnancy, and a one-night stand, but I believed her. I understood why she needed to go a little crazy for a while and pretend to be someone else.

Oh, speaking of that one night stand, I love this, immediately following:

He makes a quiet exit and when he disappears from the room I feel intense and bold and exhausted. Like I just cut a seven layer cake with a guillotine.

I’ve seen a few reviews that describe this book as a series of vignettes, but I found the short chapters very cohesive and satisfying. I devoured Roost in two days and was sad that it didn’t last me the whole flight back to Edmonton. Huffing and puffing lady turned around two more times before we arrived, and I hope she picks up a book like this, and then maybe she’ll get it, that kids are just messy and loud and terrible but it’s not their fault. In the meantime, I’ll keep thinking of devastating comebacks, weeks too late.
(Review originally posted on reading-in-bed.com)

Great!

This was a great book! I loved it! Made me laugh, and made me cry. So true to life with all the funny things that happened to Claudia.

Related Blog Posts

Reading Lists Featuring “Roost”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...